Earth logo

I Am Fear

A Shark's Thoughts

By Zachary M. Cain (Creative/Copy Writing)Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Deep Dive Challenge

Blood. Sweet, delicious blood. I can smell it in the water.

Sleek, fast, cunning. I am the apex predator. A monster, swift, destructive. I am the king of the sea, the warrior of the ocean. I am a shark.

For millions upon millions of years, my ancestors developed, no, not just developed, we evolved. Evolved into a killing machine, a death factory, built solely to rip, tear, chomp, mangle, and kill.

Oh and how I love to kill. The feeling of my prey writhing, wiggling, and screeching in pure pain and terror, there is truthfully nothing better. The wonderous scent of death, the sweet taste of blood, the pleasing sensation of torn flesh, it is all so beautiful.

Fish, seals, rays, whales, dolphins, pretty much anything I want is on the menu. I fear none, all fearme. I am king, the omega, the almighty, I am fear itself. Even the humans fear me. Top of the food chain, sure, until they're stranded in my ocean.

With rows of deadly daggers lining my gums, and the force of an explosion within my jaws, I can take on anything that comes my way. Killer whales and dolphins have to gang up on one of us just to hope to get a kill. Not I though, no not me, I hunt alone.

When other animals see me swimming closer to them, they flee, flee in pure terror. The chase is fun, the hunt is amazing. There is nothing I enjoy more than barreling down on prey, and sinking my teeth deep into their helpless bodies. Oh how I love the hunt.

Even the birds aren't safe. Some of them are stupid enough to dive bomb into my waters. I scoop them up easier than the fish. The ones in the air aren't much safer either, I can still reach the ones dumb enough to get close. All I have to do is propel my massive figure out of the waves and it's snack time.

Food is my life. I love to hunt, I love to kill, I love to eat. I love being feared. The sensation of terror when I approach makes me feel complete, it makes me feel... powerful. I am a being known for destruction, and I couldn't be more proud of that fact. Ravaging everything in my path, its truly what I live for.

Whether the water is cold or warm, I can adjust. I can be anywhere I want to be thanks to my ancestors evolving into gods of the waves. We may have gotten smaller over the centuries, sure, but that just makes us faster, swifter, more agile. Elite murderers, dominate monsters, compact tanks. I love being a shark. There is truthfully nothing better.

My scales scream chaos. My fins slice the water like a bird through the air. My tail is the strongest propeller in the water, my bones brace the bombarding waves with ease. My teeth illuminate with destructive tendecies. My eyes tell a tale of demise. I fear none, all fear me, and that is what I live for. The hunt is my happy place. The sea is my home, my hunting grounds, my kingdom.

Proud, strong, fast, vicious, feared... I am the ruler of the reef, commander of the current, destroyer of the weak. I am above all who swim the depths. Pure evolutionary genius, masterfully designed to strike terror into the eyes of anything that crosses my path. I am the king of the sea. I am the warrior of the ocean. I am the great white. I am a shark.

I am fear.

short story
Like

About the Creator

Zachary M. Cain (Creative/Copy Writing)

Independent writer specializing in Comic Books, Fiction, Music, and Poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.