Earth logo

How Plants Nurture You

Bringing inner peace through green

By Asterion AvocadoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
How Plants Nurture You
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

“We may think we are nurturing our garden, but of course it’s our garden that is really nurturing us” — Jenny Uglow

When I was, the last summer, watering the tomato plants in my mother's garden, it hit me: I was at peace. And honestly, I'm not often at peace with myself.

I started wondering why, all of a sudden, I felt calm and happy.

Could it be because the grass is softening as the sun sets? The drops of water on the fruit and roses...the small sunflower seedlings I put a couple of weeks ago starting to grow? Whatever it was, I knew that gardening and being "in nature" felt really good.

I drew up some mental hypotheses and did some research to explain the feeling.

One thing that came up is connection.

It may sound a little hippy-dippy, but that's exactly what it is. Plants are sentient beings. As a result, interacting with and caring for them has the potential to make us feel connected as well, both to other people and to the "outside" world. Furthermore, if the plants you care for are edible, such as herbs or vegetables, there is an extra link: you are eating something you helped produce and harvest. While they aren't children, they have a childlike quality about them. And, to be honest, I've given each of my three indoor plants a name. Yes,  Philibert, Michael, and Geronimo. Well… That's probably why the area where you store your plants is called a "nursery."

But there is more. Caring for plants, be it in a garden or a loft, makes us move. And think.

I think the amount of physical exertion depends on the sort of plants we have, the type of gardening we undertake, or both. When I visit my mother, I tend to the roses in the backyard, as well as those in the front yard, and the vegetables and herbs. I do become a little fatigued, and I do move my booty a little. But, at home, I just had "the kids" and Basil. So I wouldn't be able to say I work up a sweat in such a situation.

However, not all workouts are physical in nature. They might be emotional, psychological, or even spiritual in nature.

Be a gardener if you like the idea of being happy for the rest of your life.

By Benjamin Combs on Unsplash

Gardening is a lovely approach to encourage "being present" and "mindful" through scents, sensory experiences, the climate, and being aware of our motions. It's also a lovely opportunity to put everything else aside for a bit and simply appreciate the scenery.

Gardening not only activates and meets our biological/physical requirements, supporting healing, but it also fulfils our needs and wants, enhancing our creativity and providing joy to ourselves and others. The fulfilment of both requirements makes us feel like we're living completely as human beings, allowing us to have entire bodily, mental, and social wellness.

Neuroscience Says

Simply being in the presence of green may help you relax and concentrate.

Is it true that listening to the forest through Alexa at night relaxes me?  Yes, I believe so. What does research, on the other hand, say?

Being surrounded by nature, gazing at it, or being exposed to sights of greenery (such as a picture of a forest in front of you) appears to have incredible impacts. It appears to alleviate tension and negative moods while increasing good ones. Being in nature also tends to reduce muscular tension, high blood pressure, and, if I'm being honest, even make you grin (ooh, so corny!).

What about the bit about concentration? Well, a study suggests that taking micro-breaks to stare at nature (actual or imagined) improves our ability to focus, allowing us to learn and perform "better."

Gardening also aids in the improvement of one's diet. Of course, this isn't always the case if you simply have indoor plants, but it's more likely if you have a garden or at least some sort of herb, veggie, or fruit patch/plants.

I'm not claiming that eating fruits and vegetables is better for you than other diets (I do think so, but who knows). However, I feel they are essential components of people's dietary requirements. You have vegetables, and you eat vegetables. Simple.

Nature
4

About the Creator

Asterion Avocado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.