Earth logo

Honeybees Create My Happiness

For everyone who loves flowers

By Tamara LoertscherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Honeybees Create My Happiness
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

Since I was a small child, In nature running wild, I have loved every kind of flower.

Flowers in every shade and every hue my eyes just loved to devour, as I was (and still am) obsessed with all things of color.

Flowers growing as wild and free as me, as far as the eyes could see, is what a dream of mine would surely be.

It would be a beautiful sanctuary for one of Earth’s most important gifts, what could it be? Why it happens to be the humble little honeybee!

From flower to flower they shift, all the while being very steady and swift. With the task they had been given of breathing life into the land, their decline is a crisis far to few realize is at hand.

Pesticides and weed killer oh my, we use these why? By doing so the bees will sadly continue to die.

Without those bees, those precious little gifts, there would be no flowers for our mothers to happily sniff.

There would be far less food to eat, and nevermore any tasty honey as a treat.

No more southern style sweet teas, and most certainly far fewer flowering fruit trees.

Far less clean air to breath, as many trees and flowers would fail to seed.

If this were to happen even the worlds richest elite, wouldn’t have anywhere on this Earth to retreat.

I think of this dilemma every time I arrange a bouquet of flowers, of poor Mother Earth rapidly loosing her powers.

It’s quite a delicate balance this art of floral arranging, and just like everything else sometimes in order for it to work it needs a little changing.

With my old trusty fiskars scissors, I look at the flowers carefully and consider, this one should be taller, and that one “snip” just a little smaller.

I arrange them with care, knowing by instinct it seems which ones to pair.

This is how honeybees help me create joy, without them there would be no flowers for me to make the art that I so love and enjoy.

To help give back to to this wonderful little creature, I have become a bee advocate and bee teacher.

I dedicated a clover patch in my yard, over which I will proudly stand guard. Against pesticides and pollution, caring about the environment is the only real solution.

I watch over them as they flit and dance, it is so relaxing that sometimes I sit amongst them in a peaceful meditative trance.

Once in a while I will get seemingly lucky as I take those same precious scissors and carefully cut the stem of that fabled four-leaved clover, that I just happen to find in the patch that I so lovingly gaze over.

I take it upon myself to make it a priority to teach my wonderful 6 year old son, the joys of everything great and small under our one, life granting sun.

As a mother it brings me indescribable joy, when a wildflower is picked for me by my one and only sweet little boy. Or when he asks for a camera instead of a toy.

I will teach him the best that I can, to be gentle and kind to the land, at least that is my plan.

My greatest wish is for all our children to have a future that is clean and bright, and if we all start working together and realize this now it just might.

Wether it be in the store, your backyard, the side of the road and more, wherever it is that you see those beautiful flowers, I hope you think of my story and those honeybees’ incredible super-powers.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Tamara Loertscher

I love writing and creating beautiful, imaginative stories. I try to be as original as I can. I have a beautiful son, who is my entirety, and a loving husband. Thank you for reading my content ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.