Earth logo

Hilarious "confessions" from Formula 1 drivers, revealing their guilty pleasures, secret fears, embarrassing moments both on and off the track.

Behind the Helmet: Formula 1 Drivers' Hilarious Confessions – Guilty Pleasures, Secret Fears, and Trackside Mishaps

By Hunk LunkPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Hilarious "confessions" from Formula 1 drivers, revealing their guilty pleasures, secret fears, embarrassing moments both on and off the track.
Photo by Brian McCall on Unsplash

Lewis Hamilton:"So, I have this secret obsession with knitting. Yeah, you heard me right, knitting! When I'm not racing, you'll find me in my motorhome, furiously knitting scarves and beanies for the entire pit crew. I even have a secret knitting club with Seb Vettel and Fernando Alonso. We exchange knitting patterns and sneakily knit during team meetings. Oh, and I'm terrified of spiders! One time, a tiny spider crawled into my helmet during a race, and I had to finish the lap while screaming like a little kid. It was a real 'arachno-drama' on the track!"

Max Verstappen: "Alright, don't judge me, but I'm a huge fan of rom-coms. Seriously, I can't resist a good romantic comedy. When I'm not tearing up the track, I'm at home watching 'The Notebook' or 'When Harry Met Sally.' My teammates make fun of me for it, but hey, love is a powerful thing, just like a well-timed overtake. And here's the kicker – I'm terrified of clowns! One time, I walked into the paddock, and Daniel Ricciardo decided to surprise me in a clown costume. I nearly jumped out of my racing suit!"

Sebastian Vettel: "Okay, folks, here's a confession you won't believe. I have a secret collection of rubber ducks. Yes, rubber ducks! Each one represents a different race I've won, and they're all dressed up like little race car drivers. I even have one for my four world championships. And guess what? I'm afraid of public speaking. Whenever I have to do a podium interview, I start sweating more than in a race. Sometimes, I just wish I could drive my car straight to the press room and answer questions from the cockpit!"

Daniel Ricciardo: "I have a thing for spicy food; I mean, really spicy. I carry hot sauce with me everywhere. When I'm not racing, you'll find me challenging the team's mechanics to spicy wing eating contests. And here's a juicy secret – I have a secret stash of honey in my helmet during races. It's my lucky charm! But, I'm also afraid of snakes. One time, during a promotional event, they brought out a python for a photoshoot. I bolted faster than you can say 'shoey'!"

Fernando Alonso:"Confession time, people! I have a secret alter ego as a salsa dancer. I've taken lessons, and I've even performed at some hidden-away salsa clubs. It's my way of staying relaxed and focused. But, and this is a big but, I'm utterly terrified of horror movies. My heart rate during a horror flick is probably higher than in a race! Once, my friends tricked me into watching 'The Exorcist' before a race, and I couldn't sleep for weeks. The real horror is off the track, folks!"

Valtteri Bottas: "Okay, here's the scoop. I have a secret talent for beatboxing. Yep, I'm a closet beatboxer! I practice in my hotel room when no one's around. And to balance it out, I'm absolutely petrified of haunted houses. I remember one time, Lewis and Toto Wolff convinced me to go to a haunted mansion during Halloween. I ended up hightailing it out of there, screaming like a banshee. I'll stick to beatboxing, thank you very much!"

Nico Rosberg: "Alright, buckle up for this one. I have a secret guilty pleasure for cheesy '90s boy band music. Backstreet Boys, NSYNC, you name it! Whenever I'm on a long flight to a race, I'm belting out 'I Want It That Way.' But here's the twist – I'm deathly afraid of birds. One time, a pigeon flew into my garage during a practice session, and I abandoned my car faster than you can say 'bye, bye, bye.' Those feathered creatures are my kryptonite!"

Formula 1 drivers, like everyone else, have their quirky and hilarious secrets. Who would've thought they were knitting, watching rom-coms, salsa dancing, and collecting rubber ducks? But hey, it just goes to show that even the fastest racers on the planet have their entertaining quirks and fears.

NatureSustainabilityshort storyScienceHumanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.