Earth logo

Good morning, Nature

Nature has a way of thanking us for our efforts

By Jack DietzPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

A heavy marine layer off the Pacific Ocean hung low over the mountains like a gray, wet blanket as I let myself out of the house and started my morning fitness walk around the park. Dawn, or at least the gradual fading of the night was breaking, birds were singing, and the large owls which keep me awake at night had finally quieted down. The air was cool with a slight dampness to it, and it was a perfect time to be with nature before the sounds of traffic and people rushing; lord knows where interrupts my commune with nature.

On this day, after completing my circuits around the park, I decided to sit down on one of the benches and gaze up at the mountains, and watch the marine layer slowly reveal their jazzed tops. Living in Southern California and close to the San Bernardino Forest, reducing our carbon footprint, staying vigilant about red flag warnings, and indirectly protecting the oceans is a way of life for me.

I have a profound love for these mountains and this national forest. I guess I can say that I simply love nature and do as much as I can to protect it.

One of my most important roles in that regard was volunteering as a fire lookout for the National Forest during fire season. I did that for several years to include helping to staff the Fire Prevention display at the county fair. Explaining to anyone who stopped by our fire tower cab the role of fire towers, how we look for and report smoke, how fires start, and how people can prevent fires was a labor of love.

While I had to step down for a while, I plan to get back into the towers and work the fair as soon as possible.

Meanwhile, as I sit in the park, I considered the requirements of this challenge and decided to simply list what my wife and I do to lessen our footprint and try to set an example for our kids and grandkids.

We separate our trash.

We recycle and try to reduce our purchase of items that are packaged in plastic.

We do not hose down chemicals into the city drainage system.

If we have to drive somewhere, we consolidate and plan our trip to accomplish the tasks without going all over town.

We no longer use charcoal to bar-b-que

We use ceiling fans only when necessary

The thermostat is always set high enough that our Air conditioning only runs for short periods.

We wash clothes on off-hours and only once a week.

We regulate our sprinklers and turn them off on rainy days.

Of course, we have also planted flowers that help clean the air and provide nourishment for the birds and offer some scented fill air that our neighbors enjoy when they walk by our home.

At the moment, out on the small pond, a small brood of baby ducklings is scurrying after their mother. Watching them, the motion of their little feet paddling and their tails waging, just reminds me of how blessed we are to enjoy what nature provides. It’s a shame that so many people today have their heads bent looking at some electronic device to get that moment of self-importance, while what is really important is all around us to see, to hear, to smell, to touch, and it doesn’t cost us a cent.

Sigh! Each time I come and sit by this pond, gaze up at the mountains, watch the ducks or the small lizards as they rush up and down the tree trunks, I tend to look inward. There is a part of me that feels blessed that I get to enjoy this view every day. Then there is the other part. The part that reminds me that my recent cancer scare was a warning sign. A sign that if I don’t take better care of myself, I will be like this beautiful planet. Gone forever.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

Jack Dietz

Hello

I’m a 68-year-old Vietnam Veteran living in Southern California.

My writing started due to my volunteered to work as a Fire Lookout. I hope you enjoy my stories and will always welcome any feedback at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.