Earth logo

Giving Tuesday : A Global Holiday You've Gotta Get Involved In

Do you believe in magic?

By Amber GracePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Classic photo shoot with my younger sister, conveniently TERRIFIED of Santa.

A fun (potentially embarrassing?) fact about me is...I believe in Santa Claus.

I'm 29 years old and I really really still do. This isn't to say that no one has attempted to give me "the talk"- believe me they have- or that I don't recognize the impossibilities mixed in with the stories some of us grew up being told...

I still believe. Want to know why?

Because during this extra special time of year something takes over most of the world. No matter what or how we celebrate or where we come from, a feeling of generosity, and love, is felt more often than not through the entire season.

I think that's what Santa Claus really is: People wanting to give and do good as much as they can, all around the same time- that's pretty magical in my opinion.

Anyway, I know it, you know it, so let's just admit it. The spirit is overwhelming and we are all definitely hyper-consuming right now.

'Tis the season ! For going off our diets, spending time with loved ones, and also spending our entire (and much more limited this year) wages and savings on the conveniently inflated price-points for gifts, food, travel and living expenses- all so that we can participate in capitalist holiday after capitalist holiday after capitalist holiday... need I go on?

I know I sound a little "Negative Nancy" over here so let me just clarify: I LOVE THE HOLIDAYS! Despite the capitalism that makes it's way in...I love the music and the lights and the decorations and I love the way everything we do feels just a little more special l than usual. But , what I love the most about the holidays is the way the spirit of giving takes over. Whether it's through food, quality time, or material objects (home-made or purchased) it is the giving, sharing, and reconnecting that we do that keeps us warm through the winter.

The spirit of giving is a powerful one. But, as I was mentioning earlier, it can also mean that we're spending a little more than we would want to normally. My favorite way to ease any guilt I might feel is to spend my money supporting companies, artists, non-profits, you name it, that really matter to me.

Realistically, though, it can be pretty expensive to do all of your shopping waste-free, climate- friendly, cruelty-free, so- here is what we can do.

On GivingTuesday every year- the Tuesday after Thanksgiving and right after Cyber Monday- we are all encouraged to give back in absolutely any way that we can.

GivingTuesday is a Global Movement based on the truth that everybody has something to give. Whether it's an act of service, a day of making donations to causes you care for, volunteering our time or being there for someone who needs a listening ear- we all have the power to improve our communities, our planet and, ultimately, our world. And trust me, that good karma always comes full circle :)

Check out https://www.givingtuesday.org/ for resources to help you give back tomorrow. The site lists places near you that you can donate to or volunteer at, but it also lists ideas for if you're short on time, money, or (understandably) energy these days.

The ultimate goal of GivingTuesday since it's debut in 2012 the founders have had one goal:

"to make giving more central in daily life... on a course to build the first global generosity movement and the first global day of celebration open to anyone and everyone. "

And they have been more than successful...

"Today, GivingTuesday is an inclusive and pluralistic community of millions of givers, with activity in every country on every continent... "

( GivingTuesday.org)

So you're telling me there's been an entire network created to make it easier for us to all give to each other, help one another, no matter where we come from or what our circumstances are ? And that each of us has the power every single day to make the planet we live on and the communities we belong to a little bit better ?

Sounds like Santa and their Elves at work to me :)

Do you believe in magic yet?

I sure do.

Happy Giving to All !

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Amber Grace

A Los Angeles transplant from Maine, Amber finds meaning through creativity. Amber makes art to better understand herself and others, and to expand on the things that make us all oh-so- human.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.