Earth logo

Forever Rain

Will The Government Listen?

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 5 min read
4
Forever Rain
Photo by Inge Maria on Unsplash

I walk through the soaking-wet streets of what used to be the most beautiful seaside town.

The town is called Rose Town.

Rose Town is known for the glorious array of colored roses that grow along the clifftop. In the summer, the cliffs burst into a fiery array of red, orange, pink, and yellow roses, complimented by a view of 9 miles of beautiful golden sand and a deep blue sea that shines like a bed of dazzling jewels. The town is usually buzzing with bakers baking fresh bread, doughnut stalls, various buskers and comedians, people chatting happily while sitting outside the coffee shops enjoying food and fresh coffee, shoppers, and tourists.

But today, this beautiful town's mood is painted black, and there is hardly anyone around.

Our sea levels are rising.

I have always known this, even though I do not know a lot about rising sea levels. I do know, every time I have visited the beach, the sea has become blacker, deeper, and stormier over recent years. During the last few years, we have witnessed regular heavy rainfall and more flooding than our town can handle, but we have never before witnessed anything like we have today.

Our town is wrecked.

This morning as I walk, my eyes and mind cannot process what is happening. Almost every garden is severely flooded, and most houses are empty and abandoned because they have been torn apart by heavy waves, gales, heavy rainfall, and angry, stormy waves that trashed our sea defenses and everything else with it. There are very few people left in our town, most of them have left in a bid to save what is left of them if they manage to make it through the already flooded streets, and the heavier wind, rain, high tides, and whatever weather is left to come.

I stand knee-deep in water as we speak.

A few weeks before this disaster we had a drought where the sun was so hot it dried up all our water supplies, and I know from the news it also melted our polar ice-caps further; this was followed by weeks of rain.

We were warned on the news that our beautiful town would be underwater very soon; only we don't know when.

The rain calms for a little while, so I decide to walk a little further, despite being soaking wet. I have no way of getting changed as my house was struck by the thunder and lightning that occurred in last night's storm, and my house is now wrecked.

My eyes fill with tears as a child's doll washes up in the deep waves of the flood, to the side of me, filling my heart with dread.

Families are using boats here in an attempt to escape the horror of floods and to save their families.

I can't help but wonder if this doll belongs to a child whose family was swept out to sea by the angry, violent waves and rough currents. I wonder if they are still alive.

It pains and terrifies me to see this once-beautiful hometown being destroyed by the forces of the evil side of nature. I have lived here for almost 25 years, and now I am faced with the sadness of seeing people's lives being torn apart, and people leaving, and I too have to make the decision as to whether I should leave. My entire family was killed in last night's storm; now, there is only me. My eyes suddenly flood with tears and I hurt my foot as I kick a heavy but soggy piece of wood that floats toward me.

I look around me at the painful and heartbreaking devastation around me, feeling tearful, angry, and numb all at the same time.

I can't decide if it is terrifying the fact that I am alone, or more terrifying that some of these people may lose their lives; just as my family did.

I walk past another wreckage of a garden and a house. A four-year-old boy clutches a teddy bear in one hand while holding his mother's hand with another. Both he and his mother are sobbing; I haven't got the heart to walk away, so I walk over to them. I find out that their home was torn apart in last night's storm and the little boy's daddy had died in it.

The mum had decided to leave so that she could protect her son.

I felt a lump rise in the back of my throat, and all I can do is hug them both. I do not want to leave them, but I must.

It pains me to do it, but I know that I can't save them.

I hear the silent rumble of thunder in the distance, and I know this storm is brewing once again. This time, the flood sirens sound louder, and everybody is rushing trying to figure out their escape.

I realize at this point that we are all going to die if we don't do something to try and save ourselves. Some people are choosing to stay, desperate to save their hometown from doom, while some of us decide to leave in order to protect ourselves.

It is time for me to go too.

I wear my heart on my sleeve and take one last look around. I think about my mum, my dad, my brother, and my sister; though they are not here anymore.

I look towards where my house once stood, now a shallow, watery grave to those I love. My eyes are sore with the tears I cry, and I have to force myself to walk away with a sad, deep, shallow grave in my heart.

I whisper goodbye, then I turn away and leave. Will I make it? I don't know.

Our world is being affected by climate change, and our sea levels are rising. Will our government listen or will they only listen when it is too late?

Either way, we must act now.

I hope you enjoyed this story. Hearts are appreciated, and tips are greatly appreciated too; though they are optional. Thank you for reading.

ClimateNatureshort storyHumanity
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwoodabout a year ago

    This is incredible stuff. A terrifying vision of the near future, all the more so because you force us to confront the reality that the way things are going, it's a matter not of if but when. Every reader will recall the heatwaves of summer 2022, and your story is a stark reminder we must all stop burying our heads in the sand and acknowledge instead that these catastrophes are happening now. It's more than a topical cautionary tale, however. It's also work of art. There is real poetry here - note the personification of the waves as "angry," and the painterly contrast between Rose Town's many beautiful colours before the disaster and the "black mood" of the town in the aftermath. On a related note, "the sea has become blacker, deeper and stormier" chimes with Dame Edith Sitwell's poem 'Hornpipe', which was adapted by Shakespeare's Sister into part of their song 'I Don't Care' (1992). I don't know if this was deliberate on your part, Carol, but it's still rather a brilliant touch to remind the reader that a whole lot of people saying "I don't care" (in the government and, sadly, the general public too) are the ones responsible for this tragedy. This symphony of gloom reaches its crescendo as the flood-sirens strike up again. Masterful. We of the Cold War generation grew up in fear of that eerie sound because back then it meant we'd soon be wiping each other out with weapons. It's turned out however we didn't need these to doom our planet. I'm reminded of the 1960s film of The Time Machine by H. G. Wells, which imagined the Eloi carried a racial memory of those sirens because they were associated with what had made their post-apocalyptic world. Perhaps climate change will one day bring about what Wells imagined - civilization in ruins and mankind reduced to morlocks cowering in their hollows. A bleak but superb read to start my morning, thank you Carol!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Outstanding climate change story!!! Left a heart!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.