Earth logo

Fishing is life

My one true passion

By Paul whiddon Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Fishing is life
Photo by Will Walker on Unsplash

For many fishing is a relaxing hobby, while others could care less about it at all. For me fishing is life. I was first introduced to fishing at a young age (still in diapers young) by my mother and father. While for them fishing was simply a good pass time to enjoy in the summer months. I quickly fell in love with the sport, and it became my greatest passion.

My parents liked simply putting a worm on a hook, and throwing it out waiting for a fish to bite. As an A.D.H.D. child just sitting waiting for the fish to bite was hard for me to do. So while my parents would sit on the dock and wait for fish. I would walk the banks casting and retrieving my line, hooking up with loads of small bluegill and the occasional bass. As I grew up I started studying fishing more and more. Learning as much as I could about the sport. More techniques, how to use different lures, and how to target specific species of fish. The more I studied fishing and the more fish I caught, the more I was hooked.

Chinese philosopher Loa Tzu said “Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day, teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime.” This couldn’t be more true. Fishing has always been a great passion of mine. For both sport and food. I am always looking for ways to share my passion with others and often found my self trading tips and tricks with other fisherman.

When I was about 24 I came across a young man my age named Ray. I met Ray when he got a job working for me at a local factory. He was going through a rough patch in life living on the streets. He told me that one of the hardest things about being in that situation was finding food. He hated the thought of “dumpster diving” for half a cheese burger but the reality is you gotta eat. He over heard me and a fellow co-worker talking about Crappie fishing on lunch one day, and began asking questions about fishing. After getting to know Ray for a couple of months through out the winter. As spring rolled around and the fish started moving in to shallow water to spawn. I invited my new friend to come learn how to fish, and thats when I found my first “student.” I spent the summer teaching him everything I knew about fishing from how to catch, clean, and cook the fish to learning how to target specific species. For the next couple of years I kept tabs on Ray; he spent several months feeding himself from the local river as he got his life back on track and off of the streets. The last time I checked on him he still enjoyed fishing and eating his fresh catches. He had also began teaching his children how to fish.

Since teaching Ray to fish I have had several more people come to me to learn how to fish. Some of which where even referred to me by Ray himself. Others I have met along the way in my own walk of life. Teaching people how to fish has become a new found part of the sport that I absolutely love. Not only do I get to share my knowledge and skills, but I get to meet new amazing people and make new friends along the way.

It got to the point to where just about every time fishing season rolled around I found my self with a new “student” desperately wanting or even needing to learn how to fish. Some were family or friends including my own children. Others I barely knew or just met and had got in touch with me through Ray or another student. At this point I have taught 15 – 20 people how to get started, and enjoy this amazing pass time.

If I could monetize my passion; I think my skills would be best put to use building a blog or you tube channel teaching people the basics of fishing. To help new fisherman learn everything they need to know to get out on the water and catching fish; which could include all the basics that one would need to get started. Along with weekly tips, tricks and tactics to add to there arsenal; so that they could keep learning, advancing there skills and of course keep catching fish.

Finding a way to make an income actually teaching people how to fish in person would be ideal too. Being able to have the one on one interaction, and to be on the spot with them to answer any questions they have or simply lending a hand landing there fish. I am still a long way out from being able to do either of these. However I am continuously studying and researching how to turn my passion for teaching people how to fish into my next adventure in life.

It is my true passion spending time in nature catching fish, but even more so helping others learn to do the same. There is no greater fulfillment for me than helping someone land there first fish, learn how to tie there first rigs, and seeing the twinkle in the eyes of a new angler being “born”.

Whether or not I am successful in making a living teaching people to fish is irrelevant. It is a nice dream; however, simply sharing my knowledge with others makes the sport all the more enjoyable for a lifetime fisherman like myself. The true passion in it is the interaction with others, spending time in nature, and sharing everything I know with any and all who care to learn it. As the title says for me fishing is life and at the end of the day enjoying life is all that really matters. Teaching someone how to fish or helping them bring home a bucket of fish for supper just makes it all the more worth while.

Nature
1

About the Creator

Paul whiddon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.