Earth logo

Ego Death

Times Three

By Isaac Haldeman Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Cody on Earth Day

Dear Earth aka my favorite woman,

It’s become clear to me, after my fourth ego death retreat, that I simply have been a half baked, carbon breathing A.S.S. Hole to you.

Arrogant

Selfish

Simpleton

This morning after my crazy, crazy, reality bending meditation I realized I need to do more than just tell you Happy Birth Day every year on HerDay aka Earth Day.

So here goes nothing, at an attempt to help save everything! I’m going to dream of a new way to live to increase my lack of a carbon pawprint. I have been on this path for sometime now but I need to do more.

So...We all know that a lot of ego goes into the packaging of products and most of it ends up either in some dump piled a mile high or in one of your many arteries aka rivers, streams, cenotes, ponds, lakes and my personal favorite, the Ocean.

What I, Cody “Lotus Blossom” plan to do about it is make it super illegal to NOT recycle packaging. For instance I saw a beautiful bag of cookies the other day that had an aluminum lining. This lining would be very easy to recycle because when the bag is empty it’s virtually clean as new. This is a prime example of easily fixed waste...ego death times one! We’ll need extremely humble egoless lawyers probably and I bet I will meet at least one on my next Peyote retreat.

Speaking of retreats, do you remember that one time Jericho Joe and I were on mission to free the Pink Fish after it was recaptured in the Amazon? That was a wild ride and we did it for you girl!

Next...I would really like to lean on the bottled water industry. We all know water is practically your soul in liquid form, thus we need to stop putting it into plastic that ends up in your soul.

The governments of the world need to work on getting subsidized water filters in every home and in every public area in conjunction with my Ego Death times two, reusable metal liquid containers.

While at the Genosha Environmental Ego Death Summit last fall I was pulled aside by someone Spearheading sustainable hydration movements in the whole of the Americas. They’s name, I can’t say here, but you know who they are.

No more plastic bottles floating around in your soul. Can’t have my favorite girl having a blotchy soul can I? Not on Cody’s watch!

Now...for Ego Death Times three.

Breathing! I would like to incorporate some sort of implant that filters out the carbon from human breath. Now, the ego will fight this but that’s to be expected.

I have no idea how to make this proposed implant but I know your atmosphere would totally be into it.

Bonus Ego Death!!! I just reread Dune in anticipation for the movie this summer!

Timothée Chalamet has had major issues with his ego in his early years but he definitely won that inner battle because he is freaking awesome!

Anyways, I was inspired by the “Still Suits” they wear on the desert island of Arrakas. They essentially drink their own sweat, pee, and poop. So I will be doing the same.

I have a whole set up in my outhouse and plan to recycle as much as I can of my own bodily fluids. The outhouse will also double as part of my fertilization system form my Chia Bet farm.

Again... I am really sorry for doing more talking than action!

Now I am going to go and lay down in a nest of your golden green locks!

Forgive us for our egos that keep harming you.

Love always,

Cody

Sustainability
1

About the Creator

Isaac Haldeman

NYC

I enjoy stories and telling them.

I’m the rich father before I am the poor artist.

Working on a novel. Why is it so hard?! ;)

@isaachaldeman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.