Earth logo

Dragonfly & Salamander

Garden Allies

By Sarah St.ErthPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
11
Yes those are my dirty nails 😜

I didn’t think I had anything to add to this community, as I am not a photographer, or an adventurer at this stage of my life. I like to dig gardens, plant flowers, and food, and connect with my surroundings. In this I have found joy in the simple things.

My feature photo is my hand with a freshly hatched dragonfly that my little guy and I located while playing in the garden, she was drying her wings. My son was so curious, I layed my hand to guard her from his innocent but possibly lethal attention, and she/or he happily (like smiling happy) crawled onto my hand.

It was a joy and a blessing we were able to share, observe, and release to a safe spot in the branches of a tree.

Yup, that’s me again💜

My next photo is of a most honoured member of my gardens abundant ecosystem. Not only are they a sign of good water, and earth, they are included in my Irish ancestors family crest. They symbolize healing and regeneration. The brother of the Irish King whose right hand was severed and rendered him unable to be king due to disfigurement, vowed to restore his brothers hand and throne and went on a quest to find an alchemist to assist him. The kingdoms were split between three remaining brothers, two took there territories and the third went in search of Alchemical answers for his brothers misfortune.

On his quest he observed Salamanders with reforming limbs, and began to study them, curious to share this phenomenon with his brother and king.

My Final photo is one I call “A snake in the hand” as an ode to the old saying a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, a multi-faceted entendre that makes me giggle. Also to be aware of my surroundings and the energies that are around me. I love our planet so much, connecting with it every day is something I can’t imagine living without. Wether hands in the soil, or head in the clouds; this dreamer can either be found here on vocal sharing my stories or reveling in the stories of some massively talented creators, Or playing outside, pretty much rain or shine. Much to the joy of my youngest son, who loves to explore every single wonder around him. I love teaching him to connect with the earth. I strongly feel that this society is greatly influenced by its lack of connection to this beautiful sacred planet on which we reside, so very temporarily; but with such a devastating affect.

Earth Sciences 101

Cultivating our garden, and our relationship with it, is the most golden abundant blessing. To teach my son about nature by interacting with it in so many intimate and connected ways, that absolutely blow my mind on a daily basis.

Blazing Stars from my garden

Cultivate don’t capture

Food I Grow with my own hands, is a treasure beyond all measure. A sense of sovereignty, as well as vigorous health from its abundantly nourishing and organic goodness. I don’t know if cabbages count for capturing the wild, but cultivating it, how yummy!

Local food sovereignty, is to me one of the most proactive things, we as human beings can do to secure our futures on earth and within our communities. Many, many, unnecessary strains on economies and environments can be addressed by this simple, and very gratifying practice.

Imagine for a moment , all apartments, grocery stores, and urban front yards abundant with nourishing healthy fruits vegetables and berries? The belief in lack would become laughable. As it truly is laughable to believe in lack in this garden in which we reside. If we take care of her, she will always, always take care of us. While there is life in her, as in any mother, we will always strive to provide for our children. And we are all her children. With much love I thank you for reading my ode to my Garden and the many forms of life that share it with me.

Nature
11

About the Creator

Sarah St.Erth

BC Born activist, Mother & Grandmother. Raised in Music and counter culture. My Pen name is an ode to my matrelineal lineage. Sign up for Vocal plus here

https://vocal.media/challenges/the-vocal-fiction-awards?via=sarah-wareing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.