Earth logo

Dragon Child Distress Chronicles

Deception

By Nelly BlackPublished 2 years ago 12 min read
Like
Dragon Child Distress 
        Chronicles
Photo by Jack B on Unsplash

There was no moon tonight. All eight of them seemed to be hiding behind the Jander World for some reason. Maybe they were hiding because they sensed some impending chaos or doom and did not want to be party to it. A kind of disclaimer, so to speak. It didn't matter. they would have to answer for it anyway. Zearbar would see to it. Then punish them accordingly. As I peered toward Jandar World I could see flickers and light pulses coming from behind it and this concludes that I am right about my assumption. They were hiding. I then softly whispered to Jealith, the largest moon. "Whatever the event will be, we need a witness. Take your place and give coverage." Slowly, Jealith crept out from behind the large planet and took up a place in the dark sky. I then looked back at Jandar World to see the other moons peeking.

I, Qeebath, ruler of the Below Sea Dragons and the Fetal Compartment, where the eggs are kept. will take a look through the Grey forest to see if i can see and prevent, maybe, the impending chaos and... and before I can finish my thought - there, I see movement. Now I can understand why the moons were hiding. They had already witnessed whatever this was that I was about to discover. As I drew closer to the movement Jealith whimpered softly, "Please,sir, don't hurt it." I looked up at the large moon who was now joined by the seven others in utter surprise, then looked back to where the movement was and there stood a small human child, one of the ones that I was sworn to kill. Now Jealith along with the seven others was in my ear again. "He asked me to protect it and made us swear. It is quite harmless and helpless. Sir, please, don't hurt it. All it does is eat sleep and play with sticks and rocks." I shook my head in total disbelief and asked through gritted teeth, "Whose is it. To which high dragon does it belong?" Only a high dragon could bear a human child. This one had not hatched but a short time ago. Maybe a hundred years or so. And now the large moon is asking me to to join her and her accomplices in deceiving the high dragon council by hiding and protecting a human child born of one of the high dragons. "The one that made me swear to protect and hide it made me swear to not tell their identity. Forgive me this disobedience sir." Jealith shone a bright green.

"I will leave you to it then," I said casually to the eight moons. "But will you tell me if the high dragon was male or female?" "It was a male, sir," the moon was incapable of lying and it only made Jealith shine even brighter.I don"t even know why I asked this as it told me nothing. The high dragon council would not even be able to tell. I suppose that I should just leave the child in the charge of the moons and do a little more investigating before I make a move to do anything. My only hope now was that the child's parent was truly a male and not a female. I have one more question for you Jealith, "What will be the fate of the child?" "The child will be taken to the humans soon, sir. I think that maybe it will be moved during Star Dance Gala while the movement in the sky is so great such a small thing as that would not be noticed." Well, at least there is a plan. And I can stay out of this altogether. As I started to turn the child spotted me, let out an unintelligible screech with playful laughter and started running toward me with outstretched arms. By instinct my defenses went on in full fight mode detecting the threat of a human. The fact that it was near was the trigger. I could not move and just as the child was three feet away the High Dragon Volar Correntrae appeared between us as a potential shield for the human child.

"High Dragon Qeebath Deeloree, please do not harm the child. It has my blood and it is harmless and defenseless. It is the spawn of Hi Dragon Shalor Norrenshae, my twin. I yield to you and appeal to your mercy." The high dragon then laid his head upon the ground as a symbol of surrender. Qeebath then laid his head upon the ground facing him to let him know that there was no conflict between them. They both stood up, regained their composure and greeted each other as brothers in the way of dragons. Qeebath noticed that the moons had beamed a wall of pure light around the child to protect it.

High Dragon Volar and Qeebath then began to walk away from the human child and proceed to the clearing near Qeebath's office. Once at the clearing, Qeebath turned to Volar and asked, "Brother, what happened? The moons said that this was the child of a male. What is happening, Brother?" "The moons do think that it's my spawn because I was the one that brought it to them and asked them to hide and protect it. Shalor hid and layed her eggs in a cave on Laylamor. The only egg that was different was the one that hatched the child. The others were delivered into the fetal compartment a hundred or so years ago. If you check your records you will find them recorded there. My father is not aware that Shalor has had this child but suspects something is amiss because she did not lay her eggs at the fetal compartment. he says nothing and enjoy his grandchildren, but still he suspects. And the moons were right. We will take the child to the humans during the height of the Star Dance Gala. Please don't expose us and our plan," he pleaded.

"You do understand, Valor, if I am called before the Dragon High Council and the King, I will not lie, I can not lie. The moons bare witness to all this happening here this night and they cannot lie. This is happening in my forest right at my compound. And now you are telling me that you will move the child tomorrow night? You do know how risky this is , don't you? All eleven Chanters will be there, along with the Grey Talkers. You are bound to get caught. What will you do in the event that you do get caught?Have you really thought this through?" "I really don't know what I will do if we get caught, Brother, but I'll try my best. Tomorrow night will tell the story," he stated as he took to the sky.

"High Lord Qeebath Deeloree, you seem to be quite occupied this night. Did some annoying mayhap befall you?" "He's just needing a mate, Father. Maybe you can help him with that." "He knows that he have but to ask, daughter. Do you have an interest in serving him?" "No Father, I only noticed because he's of age. But I can make a few suitable suggestions." We shall consider it when we set a time. Now, is the feast ready? Bring me the first whale. I shall give half to Qeebath. Are the Chanters here yet? Invite them to my pavilion and provide bowls for them." As all the hustle and bustle began, Qeebath noticed that High Dragon Jahanavine, the king's youngest daughter. eased out of his presence. So she was in on everything as well, Now the Star Dancers took their place in the night sky. Qeebath tried very hard to keep focus on the things going on in front of him but was struggling to do so. The music began and the dance proceeded. Everything was going along smoothly, so far.

"Come dance with me, High Dragon Qeebath." I had ventured off track, again. If I can't stay focused, I might as well point the thing out. I stood up and touched my head to that of High Goddess Platina Montrae of the ice region, a greeting in the way of dragons, and proceeded with her to join the already crowded sky in the Talon Moon Dance. As we danced for seemed like hours my dragon sensing hackles suddenly went up and my hearing amplified to a powerful level and I could hear the faint laughter of a child. Oh no! The human child! They were moving it. Even over the loud singing of the seven moons, I could hear it. Danabeth, the smallest moon was not there and was aiding in moving the child. Why couldn't they keep the child quiet? Now the king commanded, "Silence!" The seven moons began to sing louder as they nervously pretended not to understand or hear the king's command. I softly wispered to Jealith, "Be silent now. It is the king's command." Then all was quiet. I went and stood before the king and asked, "What is it Thou King? Is there something you wish?" "I want all things quiet and still," he commanded. At the king's command all was done. With his Dragon sight, and hearing he could now see movement and hear the laughter of the human child for hundreds of miles away. They were almost to the human lands. But now they had been discovered. "I hear the laughter of a human child. I see movement in the sky still even though I have commanded all things to be quiet and still. High Dragon Qeebath, investigate and bring all parties involved before me." "Yes, Thou King," I said and lifted my tail in salute as in the way of dragons and departed. I whispered to Danabeth, "Stop and wait for me. You have been discovered."

In two and a half minutes I was more than half way to the party when High Dragon Valor and his twin, High Dragon Shalor caught up to me and approached me from my left side calling out to me to not declare prior knowledge of the offense. they would take full responsibility and give explanation to the king, My every movement was being monitored by the king and therefore I could not answer them. The king's sight and hearing was tuned in to me so any movement, sound or acknowledgement would result in the king adjusting his sight and hearing to include anyone near or anyone speaking to me. Two minutes later I was there. The child was encased in pure light so I threw a towing bubble around it and commanded Danabeth to lead the way back. Five minutes later we were in the presence of the king.

I noticed that the High Dragons Valor and Shalor were standing in front of the king. He had forbade anyone to speak until we were all in his presence. Un shield the child that I might examine it, commanded the king. I withdrew my bubble an Jealith removed the encasement of pure light. The child sensed no danger or fear and ran straight to the king playfully shouting , Da Da? High Dragon Shalor made a move to intercept the child but the king held up his tail and signaled her to stop.I will see what the child will do and examine it. When the child reached the king it held out it's arms to him wanting to be picked up. Gam Pa? The king then picked the child up, looked at it carefully, turning it over, upside down and smelling it. After he had righted the child back up he said. The child indeed has my blood. Who cares to explain?" High Dragon Valor quickly stepped forward and laid his head upon the ground. "The child is.." and before he could speak further his twin spoke. "Before he speaks the lie, father, the human child is mine." Getting up ,Valor pleaded," Let the blame be upon me, Father. I will bear whatever punishment you decide." " Valor, let the truth be told and everyone will shoulder his on blame. Now move to my side. So tell me daughter. How did you come to have a human child?"

"Thou King, when you sent the El Tri Team to hunt and kill Underworld Dragon Viclotis Geopp who was terrorizing the human world, I was wounded. I transformed into a beautiful human female and was discovered by a human male. He saw that I was wounded and he took care of me and healed me. I was there for a year in their time and we fell in love and mated. The human had no idea that I was a dragon and when the team finally killed the underworld dragon and looked for me I transformed back into my true self and left the human there. He has no knowledge of what happened to me and no knowledge of the child. Upon discovering that I was with child I confessed to my brother, my situation and he helped me hide everything. I laid my eggs in The Cave of Laylamor near the fetal compartment and took them there to be hatched. I stayed with the egg baring the human child until it hatched. Tonight I was taking it to the human realm in order to protect it's life. She then laid her head upon the ground and said, "I yield and appeal to your mercy, Thou King." "You may rise, daughter. Jealith I will hear from you since you collaborated with this group. Do you bear witness to all that have been brought forth?" "Jealith said calmly, "I cannot bear witness to the conception of the child but I can bear witness to everything up to the High Dragons entering the cave. I saw them when they came out and took the eggs to the fetal compartment and even when they went back into the cave. I also saw him when the child was brought out of the cave. That is when the collaboration began, sir."

"I will not punish you for protecting the child, Jealith, but for hiding these things from me. Zearbar, come forth and punish these moons. One day of no light for them. do this for the next eight days. Jealith will be first. Take my grandchild to be with it's siblings And be careful that it is not harmed. It has no scales to protect it, or talons and sharp teeth." He then looked to Shalor. "Is it a male or female?" "It is a female , Father."

"We will close this matter when we convene the High Dragon Council tomorrow. Tonight, let us continue the festivities. Now bring me one of those large elephants...."

HumanityScience
Like

About the Creator

Nelly Black

I love writing stories (series) that have the reader sitting for hours just to find out what's next. I also write songs plays books and poetry. I love it when people enjoy my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.