Earth logo

Do You Recycle the Right Way?

My journey with recycling

By J.M. TroppelloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Do You Recycle the Right Way?
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I’m not an environmental fanatic. However, I want to do my small part to help the planet.

As a Gen-Xer (80’s child), the phrase, “reduce, reuse, and recycle” had been seared into my memory from infomercials and school assemblies. This phrase originated in the 1970’s when people became more conscious of trying to save the planet from pollution etc.

As a child, my parents recycled so I learned to recycle as well. Again, even though recycling is only a small part of helping the planet, I am glad my parents taught me to recycle. I’ve continued to do this through my adulthood.

Making a difference

Many townships have local ordinances regarding recycling and issue fees for improper recycling after a first offense or warning.

Then the LORD God took the man and put him in the garden of Eden to tend and keep it. – Genesis 2:15 (NKJV)

I’m a Christian. I’m not going to get into a theological discussion here. However, I believe that God created the earth. Maybe you believe differently and that’s okay. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and beliefs. I want to do my part to be a good steward of the earth and recycle.

So you shall not pollute the land where you are; for blood defiles the land, and no atonement can be made for the land, for the blood that is shed on it, except by the blood of him who shed it. – Numbers 35:33 (NKJV)

Researching recycling ordinances

I researched the recycling ordinances for my state and learned that statewide recycling did not begin until 1988. I was 14 at that time. According to the Municipal Waste Planning Recycling and Waste Reduction Act (ACT 101):

“Larger municipalities are required to recycle. With more than 11.6 million PA residents, approximately 94% of the state’s population have access to recycling.”

It is important to research the state and local ordinances pertaining to recycling where you live. You may have been recycling things the wrong way like I was.

Example of something I’ve researched

As I mentioned, I’ve been recycling for years. However, it wasn’t until I researched statewide and local municipal recycling guidelines—and began reading labels on the product containers that I put in the recycling bin—that I realized I was recycling the wrong way.

I have faithfully rinsed all plastic and glass containers before placing them in the recycling bin. Mostly because I didn’t want to get the bin dirty and attract insects and rodents due to food residue on the containers.

I eat organic yogurt mostly every day. I add fruit and granola to it. I love this healthy snack. However, I had been missing one step in the recycling process before putting that container into the bin. Yes, I rinsed the container. Yet, the directions on the container said that I needed to remove the label, or it could not be recycled. It takes extra time to cut off the label, but it’s worth it now that I am aware of this requirement.

I also learned that containers or plastic packaging that contains deli meat are not allowed in the recycling bin. That needs to be thrown in the trash. I didn’t know this at first. Obviously, I’d been recycling things the wrong way for years.

According to Vogel Disposal Service:

“‘Wishcycling’—or recycling things you’re not sure should get recycled or not following package recycling directions—has negative consequences for the whole waste management system. Not recycling the right way can lower efficiency of the waste management process, damage equipment due to jams or break downs, and contaminate recyclable materials.”

For the future of the planet

You and I can do our part even if it’s simply recycling.

When people recycle, that helps to “decrease the size of landfills, lower energy consumption, minimize pollution, enhances soil, and conserves our natural resources.” For the future of the planet, hopefully you and I can all become more environmentally conscious and recycle the right way.

By Noah Buscher on Unsplash

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Troppello

Founder of Mustard Seed Sentinel & Inspiration Realm | BA in Creative Writing | Freelancer with 20 years of experience | https://ko-fi.com/mustardseedsentinel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.