Earth logo

Do Something To Save Your Yard

April 22 should be celebrated Every Day

By MaSuPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
22 April is an EVERY MOMENT Thing

I was about 12 years old when an ecologist came from the University to speak to my grandmother, father and mother about the state of climate change. Their research and tests determined that the first 10-story building on our island was sinking because of the erosions caused by climate change. They went on to suggest that since we were business, home and land owners we should change some behaviors. In short, the effects of an expensive tan was the least of our worries.

They went on to evaluate Grandma’s restaurant and bar practices. We always used brown paper bags for the beer, wine and liquor package service. She never offered plastic stirrers for mixed drinks, only the hand blown glass ones. On show nights when we transformed the restaurant into a Disco was the only time she offered paper cups to make it easier on the dish washer and Bartendar. In the restaurant, Grandma insisted you sit down and enjoy her freshly cooked meals and used ceramic dishes and silverware and never offered take away; not even for a cup of coffee. Tho our restaurant passed their “save the world” examination, the fact that most of the businesses on the island were contributing to the strangulation of many endangered species by using plastic bags and straws, shook me.

Well, that was more than a half a century ago. From that day I was known as the “bag lady” that carried my eye-catching reusable bags everywhere and insisted on using instead of plastic in spite of the grunts and stares from the uninformed and less conscious. Then the unthinkable happened last week when my son moved into a fancy apartment community. I asked for the recycle bin. The attendant looked away embarrassingly, “We don’t recycle here.” My heart dropped. All the the years of getting my family and friends to separate, repurpose and recycle were challenged. I called the City of Atlanta and they directed me with relief back to the owners of the complex to request recycling. 99% of apartments don’t recycle deeming it expensive and just a headache.

I’m so disappointed in the city of Atlanta for not stepping up better and offering solutions that so many cities with similar challenges have conquered. I’ve lived in a single family home for decades so I never realized that apartment communities are reserved the right to offer recycling to its residents but very rarely do. According to the National Multifamily Housing Council, 52% of Americans live in multi-family homes. If all multi-family households participated in a recycling program, it would significantly reduce the nation’s waste stream.

THIS IS WHY APRIL 22 EVERY YEAR IS IMPORTANT. There are so many ways Landlords benefit often selling recyclable materials that have a market in their area. Plastic, metal, glass and even cardboard can be sold to recycling facilities in many locations. Especially for large rental properties, this can be a practical way to off-set some of their operating costs.

So if you live in an apartment complex that doesn’t recycle here’s a couple of articles that you can pass on to get them motivated and do their part to change your city, state and world.

(And oh, thanks to the Ecologist, that 10-story building is still standing, the porpoise and sea life in my hometown are legally protected is being saved through the efforts of the residents and businesses in the community.)

Clean River - 4 Steps to Help Start an Apartment Recycling Program

https://cleanriver.com/blog-recycling-for-apartment-complexes/

How to Start Recycling in Your Apartment Community

https://blog.apartmentsearch.com/apartment-life/start-recycling-in-your-community/

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

MaSu

I see life and people at many angles to embrace my creativity and ignite diversity. I write to motivate all of us to step into our greatness so we can boldly build a strong and resilient community that will change our footprint.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ALISHA ROSS2 years ago

    My boyfriend left me for another girl for some silly reasons. He keeps telling me that I am nothing to him. He said he wants to be with the other girl. that he has no feeling for me anymore. This started more than one month ago. By this time he also speaks to me but not in his own mood or to rebuild our relationship. He does so because I request him to be with me at least for some hours or some minute… we talk only once …but I can’t stay without him. I want him back.. I was really worried and I needed help, so I searched for help online and I came across a website that suggested that Lord Zuma can help get ex lover back fast. So, I felt I should give him a try. I contacted him and he told me what to do, and I did it then he did a Love spell for me. Some hours later, my boyfriend really called me and told me that he misses me so much, So Amazing!! So that was how he came back that same day, with lots of love and joy, and he apologized for his mistake, and for the pain he caused me when he left. Then from that day, our relationship was now stronger than how it was before, All thanks to Lord Zuma. he is so powerful and I decided to share my happiness on the internet that Lord Zuma is real. if you are here and you need your ex lover back or save your marriage fast. Do not cry anymore, contact Lord Zuma now. Here’s his email: [email protected] or WhatsApp him: +1 506 800 1647 https://www.facebook.com/lordzumazuk

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.