Earth logo

A Whisper to a Scream

This World is Worth our Passion.

By Obsidian WordsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
20

I have always been one who loved the Earth through all things huge and tiny. I was never in shoes as a child and would be in, under or around trees most of the time; or I would be at the beach. I grew up to the sound of waves, the sting of sand and salt whipped up by wind or the lulling calm of the rhythmic crashing. I grew accustomed to it; a blessing and a curse. Being so close to the immensity that is the ocean and having it become home, meant that I forgot that not all is as it seems. I became complacent and never fully considered the darker truth behind the huge breaks and pretty shells.

Becoming an adult and caring about all things that make up this world meant that I needed to open my eyes and once I did, once I started to realise just how huge a percentage of humanity's effect on the world was negative, I started to change.

It started frustratingly small: reusable shopping bags, refusing to drink water from plastic bottles, picking up trash on the beaches and in the bush. Then you start to hear about how things you never even thought twice about could affect things in the world that went on ignored because it wasn’t easy to see. The chemicals in hair products and cleaners, the issues with sustainable energy, deforestation, the island of trash that slinks through the ocean growing by the day. I realised that we all needed to do MORE and that started with me. I try to avoid anything plastic and plan to move into an entirely plastic-free life-style, I recycle anything that I can and hope to move into a highly reduced-waste lifestyle. I am drawing up plans for my future home to have water catchment and saving solutions, solar energy and a home garden patch with chickens to create a mini ecosystem of self-sustainability. I dream of the day I can plant native wildflowers to give the dwindling bees a place to rest and hope to one day have a hive to protect. Realising that there are options to have zero-waste and all natural products for all manner of every-day necessities and understanding that for me the additional cost is more than worth the reward of giving our planet a fighting chance.

Another huge aspect of helping our planet, our oceans, our very own quality of life, is through education. Both self-education and using our knowledge and voice to pass on those things to others who may never have had a moment to consider how each of us creates impact. I used to mention things offhand or make passing comments to those who I though may not see the error of their ways but now I advocate, I take any chance I can to tell others easy alternatives to simple problems or to remind them that making a small adjustment to attitude and effort could develop into a lasting positive effect. I speak often and loudly about my plans for sustainable living and about the new issues that I have discovered in the world and possible ways for us to try and make a change for the better.

For so long I have been frustrated, I am travelling and sustainability is harder on the move. I was frustrated that I let that hold me back at the beginning but now I use it as my catalyst that there is no excuse great enough to surpass the value and need of our world. I have now signed up for the Green Initiative at my seasonal place of work, to learn, to live the truth that the the thing of greatest importance will always be Mother Nature and all she encompasses and for all the gifts we receive every day just existing, the lest we can do is our part to protect her. I have a long way to go, I have much to learn and many changes to make but I count the day until I can be proud of my impact. We no longer need to whisper about these things, no it is time to SCREAM.

Advocacy
20

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.