Earth logo

A to Z of Sustainability

If I Can Do It, Anyone Can

By SoomimuuPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

This is for those who can’t tell carbon footprints from animal tracks. And also for those who think you need to have a six-figure salary to afford sustainable living. I’ve only just started making small changes and I have extremely little knowledge about carbon emissions but I do know this: it’s so EASY to start with small improvements that will slowly add up and help the environment, even if it seems to you like an incremental amount. So let’s get started, shall we?

A to Z of Sustainability

Audiobooks. I did this for the first time with Trevor Noah’s Born A Crime, specifically to hear him pronouncing words in Xhosa. To be honest, I only listen to audiobooks that are voiced by the author, it adds something so special to the reading experience.

Biking! It reminds me of being a kid. And it feels awesome to bike on big streets (safely). Learn how to take your bike apart and put it back together. Put care into it and you’ll have more fun doing it.

Carpooling. This one is a given. We all know transportation is one of the biggest causes of pollution. But seriously, if you’re all going to the same place, why on earth take two or three cars when you can take one? Baffling. Utterly perplexing.

Driving force. Be the driving force in YOUR family for sustainable living. Speaking as someone who comes from an immigrant family, it’s often the last thing on our minds to recycle. But you will influence people by doing it yourself, especially the younger generation. Your actions have more power than you know.

Ebooks. I love holding physical books, believe me. But I eventually had to get real with myself. Ebooks are easier on me when I’m moving or traveling. They’re easier on my wallet and easier to take notes on. It’s….more convenient. There, I said it. But the earth will also thank you.

Fast fashion is a...no. Shopping sustainably is actually really fun if you allow it to be. Used clothing means something different today. It means giving loved clothes a new home and there are SO many places that offer it now. Plus, you’ll come across completely unique finds with a story of their own!

Grocery bags should really be a thing of the past. Walking into a store with your own bags makes one feel truly powerful. You’re prepared, you know what you’re doing. You’ve got your life together.

Have a positive outlook. You don’t need to save the entire world. You just need to take care of you and what your own effect is on the planet. Small steps, people. They work!

Influence your workplace or school to recycle. Think of how many future generations you’ll be influencing to do more good!

Just start. You can begin by making a conscious effort to toss your plastic water bottle into a recycling bin. And maybe in a while you can invest in a reusable water bottle or two. And before you know it you’ve taken multiple steps to reduce your carbon footprint and all you had to do was just start.

Kill your impulse purchasing. I know, those cupcakes in plastic containers at the grocery store are calling your name. You know what’s better, healthier, and cheaper? Buying the ingredients to bake them yourself. Also, there’s a sense of pride that comes with eating something you’ve made yourself. It’s pretty satisfying...when it tastes good, that is.

Learn about recycling in your area. Does your apartment complex not have recycling? Maybe there’s a location close to you where you could drop off recyclables instead. Maybe it’s on your commute to work. The smallest effort goes a long way.

Make your own cleaning supplies. Avoid the plastic labels and bottles and take pride in a cleaning solution that you put together with baking soda, vinegar, and whatever else you had in your pantry.

Natural sources. Paper, cardboard, soil, clay..how can you use these materials more often instead of plastic? Wrapping presents, making home decorations and DIY projects, the list goes on!

Old clothing as cleaning rags. I gotta thank my mom for this one. I’d roll my eyes when I saw her using a piece from an old pajama set of mine to clean her shoes, but then I became an adult and I started thinking the exact same way.

Paper towels be gone! Reusable cleaning rags are life changing and no, that is not an over exaggeration.

Question authorities on their recycling methods. Be positive and proactive and your actions will speak for you.

Recycled paper for everything. Diplomas, invitations, flyers...I truly don’t understand why everyone doesn’t use recycled paper. It’s literally the easiest thing.

Sandwich bags...we FLY through these. Since I bought some reusable ones, I’ve fallen in love with them. They’re durable and I feel like my food is actually protected. I’ll probably ask myself this question many times but...why have I never invested in these before?

Tempered glass food containers. Oh. My. Lord. I can’t believe I bought these for the first time only last month. I feel like an idiot. The fact that I can pop them in the microwave is already amazing for me. But they are simply better food containers in every possible way. They don’t stain from oily foods or hold the smell of anything. We like extremely flavorful and, albeit oily foods in my family so this deserves an A+.

Understand why this matters. It helps to go back to basics. Why is our planet so special and why is it worth caring about? It’s our home. It is a daunting task to try and erase all the damage that’s been done to it, but you DON’T have to make that your goal. Just make your goal to lessen YOUR damage, and that is plenty.

Verify information. With the entire world at our fingertips, there is so much that we can learn at the touch of a mousepad. Is there something you don’t know about sustainable living? Give it a search! Even after a minute of reading up on the subject, you’ll know a little more than you did before.

Water bottles! Reusable ones, that is. Buy yourself a cute one or a minimal one. A personalized one or a sports one. And use it everyday. It’s good for the environment. And it’s good for your health. Take it everywhere with you and you’ll be inspired to hydrate more frequently. Your body will thank you. So will your wallet. So will the earth!

Xpect that this will take time. Small steps toward improvement. (X is hard, give me this one.)

You CAN do this. I don’t know who needed to hear it, but there it is.

Zero waste! Maybe it won’t actually be zero, but keep in mind that avoiding products that will contribute to pollution and hazardous waste is such a significant thing when done consistently.

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

Soomimuu

I write stories, poetry, prose, and other forms of musings and ramblings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.