Earth logo

A Positive Act of Rebellion

Sewing to Save the Planet

By Anne TonerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

It's an inescapable fact that the planet is in a tailspin. The Globe is warming, microplastic fills the ocean, coral reefs are dying and the equator is drying up.

Everything you do has a global impact, from the clothes you buy, to the food you eat, even the emails you send leave a footprint. I believe this most terrifying truth can also be the most empowering.

I've been sewing and costuming for over 10 years, and initially only ever did it for the love of creating something with my own hands, and seeing the wonderful end result. It was only as the years passed that I considered the impact of my hobby. I soon realized that I could make more environmentally conscious decisions, and in turn, rebel against the fast fashion industrial complex.

Fast fashion results in 92 Million tons of waste and consumes 79 trillion Liters of water according to recent estimates. This doesn't even touch on the water pollution caused by the dying process or microplastics that come from washing synthetic fabrics.

This can feel like an insurmountable hill to climb, an impossible challenge to face. But every person makes an impact, and I believe that the act of an individual, no matter how small, can create change.

Initially, I started to try and buy second hand, an excellent way to divert textiles from landfills and give new life to loved garments. While I am happy to mend torn garments and correct discoloration it didn’t satisfy my creative itch. I wanted to design, pattern, cut, sew.

I moved on to trying to source fabrics from places that are more ethical and environmentally friendly. While I find this option highly valuable, it was just too expensive for someone dealing with student debt, high rent prices and low wages.

Someone then brought to my attention second hand fabric. A way to utilize industry offcuts, in addition to fabric that people have de-stashed. Cheaper than new textiles but still reducing textile waste. The seemingly perfect solution. But it comes with it’s own challenges, there’s limited colors, limited amounts, limited fabrics period. It forced me to get creative in a way that I had never experienced before. Patchwork, piecing, insertion, all terms I have had to become incredibly familiar with.

They say necessity is the mother of invention, and working this way makes me approach each idea I have as a new challenge. Researching how to approach, what’s the most conservative option, what other supplies do I need and can I get them second hand? But amongst all the challenges that come with working with limited supplies, the biggest skill I have learned is patience. This patience is tempered with an appreciation for the value of the material. I take my time to make sure I am happy with all of the item I am working on, making even the parts you can’t see pretty and durable, enjoying the process and not just the end result.

I am fortunate to live in a place that has multiple recycled fabric initiatives. And this does not touch on economic, regional or racial inequalities that are beyond the scope of this current piece of writing. Being able to engage with these various environmentally friendly resources is a privilege I have, and want to actively take a hold of.

When I create a unique piece, it is elevated by challenges I've had to overcome and embrace, elevated by the knowledge that I have the power to make a positive impact while doing what I love.

In this chaotic world, every second hand piece of clothing, every item you make or mend, is an act of positive rebellion.

Sustainability
1

About the Creator

Anne Toner

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.