Earth logo

A pool of still water

In your spare time, a walk on the forest path is a pleasant way to spend your time.

By DelorisPowersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A pool of still water
Photo by Jenn Wood on Unsplash

Look up at the sky, it is that pure blue.

In your spare time, a walk on the forest path is a pleasant way to spend your time. Stepping on the stone steps polished smooth by time, the path in front of me winds along with the lush pines and cypresses. A breeze carrying green leaves penetrated my heart. I couldn't help but quicken my pace, eager to see the scenery ahead.

The road bifurcated, one clean and bright, one dark and damp. I chose the latter, for no reason, to explore something is not a bad thing.

The path was getting steeper and steeper, and I carefully avoided the mud and dirt as I trudged along. Before I knew it, there was no more road ahead, only a small cliff flush with my head, I was not willing to stop here, after a lot of hard work, cutting my knees, to climb up that small platform.

Looking up, a standing and lofty pine tree for a blue as a mirror pool of water next to cover the warm sunlight, the sunlight shear scattered piecemeal on the surface of the water, rippling in the shimmering water bottom. The pine leaves broke away from the trees and fluttered into the embrace of the pool, adding a tranquil atmosphere to it.

I couldn't help but ask myself, is this real? Was it just a dream, a dream constructed by nature for me, like the Peach Blossom Garden?

I gently approached the pool of water and bent down to see its mystery. Through the blue water bottom, I saw layers of dead branches and leaves covering the exposed stones, as if buried for hundreds of years of history. Another pine leaf fell, the water waves swayed and swayed, and as the circle of water spread wider and wider, I seemed to be deeply immersed in it ......

The water reflects the environment of another time and space, I see red bricks and white tiles, rugged paths from time to time, and people walking and stopping. The eaves of the house are lined with cooking smoke, and the sunset slants through the smoke, creating the shape of light. A mother was planting flowers and grass in front of the yard, dressed very differently from modern times, and from time to time she looked at her child, who was alive and smiling happily. The child walked to the pool and looked at it with curious eyes, just as I am now, she smiled happily, did she find me?

A gust of wind blew across the surface of the water, I looked more closely, the child had long since disappeared, only I dully recalled the image just now. Is this real? I couldn't help but ask myself once again. Does this pool want to present me with the history it has witnessed?

I slowly stood up, took a few steps back, and carefully admired the landscape, the light was real, just a different time, I guess.

I stopped walking forward, afraid to step into this silence again, and unwilling to disturb this natural beauty. I worry that my arrival will destroy its atmosphere, fearing that it will be broken like a mirror. I was deeply fascinated by its mystery, by its aura, and by the tolerance, it gave me as an uninvited guest. But I can't take this unearthly view for myself for my selfish desires. I was fascinated by its distinctiveness, so why not let it live forever in this world?

I looked one last time at this landscape that gave me a special feeling and left with fondness in my heart. It is a witness of time, it will remember my existence, right?

The wound on my knee hurts, but I don't care, it's worth it.

I looked up at the sky again, still the same pure blue. There is a saying that when you are sad look at the sky, if it is still so blue, then please do not be sad, because someone's departure, something happened, and did not take away your whole sky. Yes, that passing landscape brought me to a more open road, the sky is still so blue, I am still me.

Nature
Like

About the Creator

DelorisPowers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.