Earth logo

6 books that you might like reading to develop a greener consciousness

And how we are still on time to save the world through agriculture

By AuroraPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
6 books that you might like reading to develop a greener consciousness
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

When I go back in time to understand why and how I started to be open to nature and world consciousness, I'm thrown back to my childhood when I was helping my farmer parents with their daily tasks.

From planting to harvesting, my sister and I were always there with them, sometimes working for real, or sometimes just playing with bugs, insects, potatoes and soil.

I also remember with pleasure all that time passed in solitude investigating the ant's life and their tunnels, or the summer nights where my cousins and us would chase glow-worms to put them all in a jar (at least for a night), or all the ladybugs that we would pick during the potato harvest and carry around as if we held gold in a matchbox, or even tadpoles that we would grab with a plastic cup in the stream next to the primary school just to reward our favourite teacher.

My journey into understanding natural order and developing world consciousness didn't start just by growing in the countryside; if something like that were true, the world would be just much better than it is now!

Unfortunately, people living in the countryside of my country were mainly fighting all the time!

They wanted to shape Nature to their own needs; through machinery and their bare hands, they would shape and change no matter what the cost.

Sadly this approach was costing them so much! So much pain for so little money!

Their minds were then so used to hard things that they no longer could absorb simplicity. The most simple subject suddenly would turn into a huge problem!

And just like that, by trying to control nature, they were no longer able to control themselves.

But what I want to tell you is something different.

Somehow, in the middle of the '90s, in deep Portugal, I could have access to some exciting books that soon would just ignite my journey, so with no more delays, below you will find some books and personalities that since that time till now have been the pillars of my universal consciousness.

I'm certain that you know some of them if not all, but we never know if you will find a surprise in this list. Let's see.

The Celestine Prophecy By James Redfield

I think I read this one when I was really at the beginning of my teenagehood. I remember that it was a novel, but the most crucial message in that book was the energy hidden in trees, in nature. After reading the book, I remember I was always touching trees and trying to see energy fields between my hands and my hands and trees.

I could find myself squinting my eyes, searching for energy fields on so many different occasions. I think I tried this for a couple of months, but without really seeing any light between my hands and trees. At the time, I was skeptical; now, I know that I don't need to it see with my eyes.

The Baron In The Trees by Italo Calvino

Well, this one made me wonder so much!

At the time, I was mostly climbing trees for work and not for fun.

Summer holidays would always be time to work in the old pear tree orchards; climbing each tree to collect full baskets was a task for the young ones.

I no longer remember the end of the story, but I remember the new feeling of freedom it brought me!

Then in my twenties, I came upon the most inspirational book I had read till that moment.

One-Straw Revolution by Masanobu Fukuoka

It blew my mind completely!

It started a revolution in me; suddenly, everything made sense, and I could finally help my parents make a great transition to an easy way of farming; at this time, I really thought it was possible to make them change to a less complicated way of doing things.

But I was too young, and they thought that books were just written by people that never worked in the fields.

The revolution would be kept on pause for more or less a decade.

But without a doubt, the One-Straw Revolution is a masterpiece that everyone should read and re-read!

Growing Great Garlic by Ron L. Engeland

Another great masterpiece that I read in my twenties, more or less at the same time as the One-Straw!

This one also blew my mind with its honesty and practicability.

When I was into garlic, I was obsessed with garlic; I even seriously thought of becoming a garlic farmer, so much so that during that year, while reading this book a couple of times, I started my own field experience. That summer, I was collecting Great Garlic, just like in the title of the book. My father was somehow intrigued and kind of jealous of my easy-going way of growing garlic. So the next season he also tried, of course in his way, and of course with poor results.

Pour La Vie by Alexandra David-Neel

This one just left me breathless; not only was Alexandra a huge woman but also a fantastic thinker and writer, she wrote pour la vie when she was 23 years old; the book is so full of wisdom that it looks like an old monk wrote it!

With her, I think I first realized that I needed to think by myself and for myself; I learned about happiness and consciousness, essentially about the urge to awake!

Permaculture A Designer's Manual by Bill Molisson

The Bible of permaculture, very much inspired by the natural farming of Masanobu Fukuoka and the ideas of Rudolph Steiner and his biodynamic agriculture.

It's a magnificent work and a vital tool to understand how through design we can cooperate with nature.

In the past few years, there have been new and refreshing approaches to agriculture.

And the concepts of agroforestry and regenerative agriculture are living a momentum that I hope stays forever and will finally open the whole world to this new Era that we all need to pursue!

In agroforestry, Ernst Götsch and his syntropic agriculture are changing the landscape in Brazil and Europe. His unique way of looking at nature complements Masanobu, Steiner, and Mollison's approaches, he's also inspired by the oriental wisdom of the TAO.

Nowadays, I have been reading some stuff about Regenerative Agriculture; it's the new thing, and it looks great!!

I read somewhere that intelligence is only possible by a group of people. The exciting thing is that we don't need to be in the same time and space to be part of that group; we, as individuals, are the infinite parts of the infinite intelligence - we are the only important blockchains in the universe, every time we add something to the node, the next node will be even more intelligent.

All this knowledge that took decades for so many people to collect and understand should be used by all the world, should and must be accepted by the masses; this is not just a hippie thing anymore, Farming through the knowledge of ancient and modern wisdom can now be as competitive as industrial farming.

And we all need to start looking to agriculture not as an industry but as nurturing; it is as simple as that.

If we nurture Mother Earth with quality Love and Care, Mother Earth will be more than happy to abundantly return that Love and Care in quality and also abundantly.

Thank you so much for reading! I’m open to tips! 😉

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Aurora

I write about emotions; family matters; humor; macrobiotics; poetry; fiction; philosophy; love; wealth; grace; humor.

As a reader I love to learn something meaningful, I love to feel inspired and motivated, that’s also how I try to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.