Earth logo

12 Things I am not buying in 2023:

Purchases I am forgoing this year:

By Rosewater Goya(Shade A.)Published about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by Sarah Dorweiler via Unsplash.

Water bottles, coffee, and tea: This is a no-brainer and a non-negotiable for me. However, when I first moved back to Spain, I was staying at a hostel; I did not want to refill my water bottle in a public toilet sink, so I purchased a 1-litre water bottle that I rationed for the number of days I stayed there. And coffee which I bought at a supermarket near the hostel I stayed in. To save money on drinks like coffee and tea, I prepare them myself and refill my water bottle with tap water. The water from kitchen taps is drinkable in Spain, so it makes no sense to waste your money on a water filter or a case of water bottles, even if they come in glass.

Expensive foods: This is self-explanatory, but two words: Whole foods. Organic foods are more expensive than non-organic, not to mention fresh fruit and vegetables. A small head of broccoli is around 1,53€(1,67$) for 400g (0,89 pounds) compared to 1,39€ (1,52$)for a 900g(1,98 pounds) frozen bag of broccoli.

Hummous/Hummus: This is easy to make and healthier than store-bought, which is less flavourful and filled with unhealthy oils and salt.

Expensive transportation: This is a no-brainer for me. I have only had to rely on a taxi twice this year. The first time I had to take a taxi to the airport because I was travelling with more than a suitcase; and needed to arrive three hours before the flight boarded. I was travelling internationally. And the second time was when I arrived at my destination and needed to go to my storage box to condense my luggage because I wanted to move around without being burdened by my belongings.

Fast Food and Junk food: It is easy for me not to buy fast food because I am vegetarian. On the other hand, when it comes to junk food, like chips and biscuits, which I try not to consume frequently, it’s another story. I don’t know if my taste buds are changing due to stress or self-imposed restrictions, but I have noticed that these unhealthy foods lack flavour and only make you want to eat more.

Fast fashion or low-quality clothing: This is not up for debate, but two words: over-priced, flimsy, not good for the environment, and an exploitative business.

Candles: Last year, I had to purchase candles on several occasions because I did not have time to make my own. However, this year, I am determined to make them. They are simple to make, and you don’t have to pay hundreds(if you are one of those people, I am not judging) for a good candle. Do not misconstrue me; there is a candle called Cowboy Kush by Boy Smells(the name sounds disgusting because boys tend to smell) that smells delicious. However, I cannot justify paying a lot for a candle.

Trainers and sandals when there is no need to replace them: This is easy for me, but I have a problem I am embarrassed to admit because I wait too long to replace my shoes. But I finally bit the bullet this year, and I purchased a new pair of trainers that are a pain to walk in because I have yet to wear them consistently to break them in. * Trainers are the same as sneakers in American English.

Cleaning Products: I understand how this might sound to a person or reader who does not know me personally. However, in my defence, I have a reason for not wanting to waste my money on cleaning products; not only are they expensive and often toxic, but there are also ineffective at cleaning. Instead, I only buy white vinegar that I dilute in a glass bottle with water to clean my glass windows and use liquid Castille soap or dish soap mixed with vinegar, as well as Baking soda that I mix with vinegar to form a paste and clean stubborn stains instead of using harsh chemicals.

Computer: (Warning this section contains a long-winded explanation of why I do not trust refurbished technology): I hope I am not jinxing myself, and as the British say, “touch wood,” or “Knock on wood,” if you are American. I have had a topsy-turvy relationship with technology; my first computer was a beautiful Macbook from 2010 that only lasted two years; at the time, I lived in an apartment where people went through your belongings; my computer was the unfortunate target of unwarranted abuse. Because I had Apple Care, which I have learnt throughout the years, is a waste of money, I got a refurbished one instead of a new 2012 Macbook Pro, which turned out to be a bad apple that finally died in 2020; this Macbook Pro was a problem because it often broke down, and I had to spend over five-hundred dollars to fix it. I now own a 2016 Macbook Air, which I bought because my other computer was also a heavy and clunky burden. However, I have had some problems with this computer, which are thankfully a thing of the past, and it all had to do with a battery change. A few years ago, I went to UBreakifix(I do not recommend this place), where they did a sloppy job replacing my battery with a non-compatible one( I found out at the Apple Store) that almost fried my computer. When you pay for a battery replacement for your device, you spect it to be up and running as before, but my computer would shut down and sometimes would not turn on for days. I then went to the Apple Store near Chelsea Market in Manhattan, where I got the diagnosis for the problem and decided to have the battery serviced there, which was a wise decision because they use genuine Apple parts. And since then, my computer has been working like a new one. PS: After more than a year of back-and-forth messaging with UbreakIfix, I got a full refund because I refused to let this company keep my money for a sloppy job that did more harm than good to my computer.

Phone: I have a similar story with phones. Two years ago, I bought a second-hand iPhone 8 on the internet from a reputed website for less than $300. In the beginning, it worked perfectly and came with a battery of 100%, which then depleted to 80%. I had to replace the battery in September of 2021 because the phone was not working. Three months later, my phone stopped working, and I had to get a replacement because I needed to go to work, and my business was phone-based; I bought a new iPhone at the Apple Store, the iPhone 11.

To end this article on a positive note, not that the post is negative, I wanted to share some of the things I am planning on forgoing this year, so, please, take it with a grain of salt. My intention is not to shame anyone for their personal choices.

Sustainability
Like

About the Creator

Rosewater Goya(Shade A.)

Spanish writer with a background in Creative Writing, languages and Journalism from sunny Spain. Follow me on Instagram at @shade_vinocongirasol. Interested in Foreign language writing follow me @rosewatertrout and @agoyaescribe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.