Critique logo

The Decameron

Boccaccio's Tales for an Age

By Kendall Defoe Published 9 months ago 1 min read
14
My version

Was this perfect for our times?

Bought during COVID-19; read at home with quarantine measures and online work around me; glided along the hundred tales (some going too far; others far too simple); respected this classic collection written during its own plague years.

And the women outnumbered the men.

Perfect.

The Happy Ten - from a 1492 Italian edition

NovelFictionArt
14

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    I shall give it a try! Nice critique!

  • E.K. Daniels9 months ago

    Wasn’t expecting to find a Boccaccio fan here. This one’s an underrated gem. Love the critique!

  • *Sighs, opens the list and adds this book* Excellent review!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Same as Jazzy, dude. I need to add this to my growing list of "must reads" Great critique!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    And now I have YET another book to read

  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Sweet and to the point. I like it!

  • Schmalz9 months ago

    I’m intrigued. Always have another book on the shelf to read!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Thanks for sharing . It’s a good thing when women out number men😉

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Ya Covid shutdown got me reading lots too. Might look for this

  • Listen to Mother. This was another very good micro-critique (& good use of those COVID-19 days/weeks/months/years).

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great work! 🥶

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Great critique

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.