Critique logo

Surfer Rosa

The Pixies' Genius Debut

By Kendall Defoe Published 9 months ago 1 min read
15
Remember: it's art

The first full-length one. Perfect in a year of techno all over the charts.

Had my guitar out for the loud-quiet-loud of ''Gigantic'', ''Where Is My Mind?'', ''Bone Machine''...

Ah, that machine...

Sex, right? So often missed, especially by teenage me with that cover.

A true work of art, P.

The Original Glorious Four

Theme
15

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Beth Sarah9 months ago

    Love the Pixies! 🎉👏

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    Nice! I really like how you chose an album!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    LOVE this album and your critique! Amazing, Kendall. 🤩

  • I've never heard of them but they seem to be the bomb!

  • Yeah, I could imagine how I might have lingered over that cover, too.

  • Frankie Martinelli9 months ago

    Great album! ❤️

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Ooo...If I had remembered about doing this one, I'd have done it but you got it right...Break My Body or Bone Machine are my favourites from that one, but Where is My Mind? is a classic and just oh oh oh that damn album. Well done, sir! Will you be doing one for Doolittle and Trompe De La Monde?

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    I feel like I've been missing out on so much my whole life

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Have no idea what this is but now I wish I did!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.