Critique logo

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl has ruined the pirate genre for me

But not how you might think

By Stephen A. RoddewigPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
6
A salute to the greatest captain of them all

It was the first movie I remember seeing in theaters, and my admiration for its storytelling grows with age. It is the penultimate blend of action, wit, and mystery on the high seas.

And every attempt I make to add to the genre results in a pale imitation. Save one.

Screenplay
6

About the Creator

Stephen A. Roddewig

I am an award-winning author from Arlington, Virginia. Started with short stories, moved to novels.

...and on that note: A Bloody Business is now live! More details.

Proud member of the Horror Writers Association 🐦‍⬛

StephenARoddewig.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    God I love this movie. Fantastic review, and I completely agree. Also, how exciting that you got published in a pirate story compilation book!?! I must buy this!!

  • SPOTLESS8 months ago

    Nice story

  • Ava Mack9 months ago

    Stephen, I can't tell you how excited I was to read this because I've always felt the exact same way! I have this cherished childhood memory of seeing PoC Curse of the Black Pearl at my best friend's house for the first time (summer, grilled food, no bed time). I love this movie and agree, the plot/mystery is so good, the action is great, the acting is great, and the cinematography and score just take it to another level.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.