Critique logo

Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

A critique and connection

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Image from BookWritten

I never thought the concept of being happy and sad simultaneously would be so okay. Chbosky gracefully captures the innocence of teenage-hood, the complexities of relationships, and the pressures of a perceived-judgemental society.

Through this novel and film, I’ve learned how to bloom as a wallflower and embrace myself better.

NovelTheme
11

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Is this the one with Emma Watson. It's been on my watch list forever... 😁

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    It's funny how well the movie 'Inside Out' captures how, when we grow, we can experience happiness and sadness simultaneously. It sounds like this book does the same! I remember watching the film and feeling a lack of direction and meaning from the characters - I thought it was poor writing at the time, but now I think it may have been on purpose! Nicely written micro-review! Well Done!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    This is one of the rare cases where I’ve read the book, but I’ve not seen the movie (yet). Heartfelt review. I agree with your assessment. Wonderful book 💖

  • Beautiful movie. I've not read the book.

  • I've neither read nor watched this. I think I really should. Thank you so much for sharing this!

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Your essay , make we want to read the book. 💗

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Pleased to hear! 😊 It’s a terrific little book! ☺️

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Def one of my favs!

  • Ashley Lima9 months ago

    Love, love, love this book. Great entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.