Critique logo

Normal People

Comparing Sally Rooney's literary masterpiece to its Hulu show.

By Suze KayPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
9
Normal People
Photo by Denver Saldanha on Unsplash

Against rolling Irish hills and freshly-washed linens, Marianne and Connell touch and love and part and chase and fail. Their minds and bodies are ravenous, their souls and tongues damaged. They leave me wanting more.

The show made me horny.

The book made me want to be a better person.

PoetryScreenplayNovelFiction
9

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Well, I don't know what I expected, but it wasn't that 😂 Good luck in the challenge 👍

  • Whoaaaa, what a stark difference between how the show and book made you feel. Excellent review!

  • Beth Sarah10 months ago

    A brilliant critique in just 50 words which makes me want to read this!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Interesting take. I loved the book. Gave it 5 stars on Goodreads, which I rarely do. Then I tried watching the show, but I’d honestly rather watch paint dry. It was the most boring thing I’ve ever seen. I’m amazed that you compared two works of art so adeptly in 50 words.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    great critique

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I really enjoyed the first two episodes a couple of years ago, but then my streaming service would not play ep 3. I can’t tell you how many times I tried (days even) but it kept going back to the end of ep 2! So I gave up. Haven’t read the book but hear the author is ace! 😄

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oooh. I've yet to read the book or see the show. Now, I still kinda wanna do both, but you do make the book sound better with that conclusion. Interesting perspective - I love these critiques for that, especially when it's those seemingly unquestionably good shows or books or whatever. So much hype around this. Thanks for this Suze and well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.