Critique logo

Fairytale by Stephen King

Critique Community Challenge

By KJ AartilaPublished 11 months ago 1 min read

Aș per true King fashion, his creation of world and characters is vivid and enticing. Disappointingly, he writes to an obvious Young Adult trope and story structure, leading to an unsatisfactory story and ending. I ask, where’s the heart? What’s the point? Not a great use of my time. Unexpected.

Novel

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    Maybe I'll keep reading through the old stuff then :) Thanks for the warning

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    What a shame. I was keen to read this. I personally am rarely invested in his newer works, sometimes I might be, but I prefer working through his back catalogue. Thank for a very useful mini critique. 😊

  • Good to know. One I don't need to read.

  • I've never read this but I guess huge authors do disappoint sometimes. Excellent review!

  • I wasn’t happy with the ending and quite a few things but I did enjoy the book

  • Hannah Moore11 months ago

    Ah, we share some disappointment! That seems particularly disappointing for a writer who is generally, I imagine, kind of reliable.

  • Abigail Penhallegon11 months ago

    I think that last words says a lot!

  • Heidi McCloskey11 months ago

    Great review. I enjoyed the book, for the most part. I thought the storyline was decent, but there were several parts I sort of skimmed through since they were boring. Overall though, I agree, the characters and world that he created were vivid and imaginative, but the book itself felt lacking in depth.

  • Wow that's so surprising for King! Ty for the review

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Well done, your last word says it all!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh, I haven't read this one, and don't think I want to. Well done.

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    Someone said it and I’m here for it

KJ AartilaWritten by KJ Aartila

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.