Critique logo

Albert Camus - The Outsider

A 50-Word Critique of Camus's Novel on Absurdism

By Caroline JanePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
11
Albert Camus - The Outsider
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

This book holds a mirror to the lies humanity creates about nihilism.

It has a feral honesty which the Hemmingway-esque prose underscores.

Its beginning and end lines are outstanding.

Comparable in substance to 1984.

Don't expect to like it.

Contains racism/sexism.

Of its time, yet relevant.

Read if you write.

Essay
11

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    Love this! And all so true! An absolute must read! 🤍

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I feel I must read it now

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Excellent critique 🥰👍I read most of your stories, looking forward to your new stories

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This feels like a real challenge, I love the acknowledgement that the worth of a work is not synonymous with its enjoyability.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Caroline, this was fantastic!!! Love this!!!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Camus is such a great writer, but his style is not easy on the eye. LOL! I remember reading The Plague in 11th grade, and the story has stayed with me ever since. I have to re-read The Outsider. It is a foundational story of modern French literature. Great review!

  • Read if you write. That was kinda deep. I guess I have to read this as your review has got me very intrigued!

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    One of my favorites!

  • I read this recently, in the last six months, going through the books I should read in my collection, Excellent critique Caroline , it is not an easy read though fairly short

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Never heard of it, but now it's getting added to the "Must read" list. Well done on a great critique, Caroline!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.