Cleats logo

Why Soccer Fans Misbehave

Right Now Mexico is number one

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mexican Fans Jeering their opponents

In Denver, they found the person who threw the frozen bottle of water that hit an American player in the head. He has been permanently banned from attending any event at the Broncos stadium. I feel that is justifiable. During this match the referee had to stop the game for three minutes because the Mexican fans were chanting a homophobic phrase. But why is this still happening in 2021? Because of the behavior of the fans from Mexico, they have to play their next two World Cup qualifiers at home in an empty stadium. The fans that do behave at the matches are suffering for the actions of the unruly.

The fans of Mexico aren't the only ones to use homophobic slurs at their opponent. In the Olympics a Russian reporter used a homophobic slur at a gay athlete. Was that reporter sanctioned? Probably not. Wrong is wrong, I suffered horrendous abuse as a child because I was gay. Most gay youth still are abused and bullied which leads to high suicide rates.

This past year Mexico's fans have been called out for their abusive nine times and have been fined. The coach of the Mexican National Team called on the fans to behave because the team is coming close to being banned.

I am not singling out just Mexico's fans but they are the major culprits at the moment. Other teams fans get out control as well, I am sure England's fans are no saints. If you are acting like you have no sense and become enraged at a sporting event, you deserve to be ejected. Kids attend these events as well, what type of example are you setting for them? I remember going through warmups when I played football in high school. The fans from the other team started throwing small rocks at us awe were doing our drills. I had aa rock hit me in the eye, which caused me to pull a groin muscle. The announcer got on the PA system and told the people in the stands we were there guests and to treat us as such.

I don't appreciate hearing the homophobic chants at soccer matches. I thought that with further acceptance of the LGBTQ community we were past all of this. In the early 1990's a young gay college student met some people in a bar and left with them. After the patrons out Matthew Shephard was gay, they killed him. We have to start standing for what is right, and as Randy Travis says in his song point of light, we must take a stand. https://youtu.be/8qiBjtI4MLc

Didn't we just finish Pride Month almost two months ago? I know as the Mexican Soccer team says they support equality for all. But that message hasn't resonated well with their fans. I know we have to be careful and not go totally sensitive. But as the song says there is a point when have to decide to do what is right.

How do we address fan misbehavior? If someone throws something onto the field, point them out to the ushers. Another reason people misbehave badly at a soccer game or any other sporting event, alcohol. There is no limit on how much a person may drink during a match. A person who would never think of throwing a frozen bottle of water at a player has consumed six beers and his or her judgement is severely clouded. Another reason why fans misbehave at games could be their team is performing poorly or poor sportsmanship.

I love going to the games and enjoy them. My last international match up I saw was a friendly between Columbia and the United States I loved the game of course the US won. We have to remember there are children in the stands and they are taking in everything other fans do. Please be a good example and not an ass.

world cup
Like

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.