Cleats logo

Last 10 Ballon D’or winners

by Fasih Rauf 21 days ago in football
Report Story

Here is the list of previous winners

The Ballon d'Or is the award given every year to the best footballer of the year. It was started in 1956. The Ballon d'Or is given to the player by the contribution of FIFA and French football. Every year, FIFA enlists 30 players, of whom one is given the award. This award is given to the player based on last year’s performance and trophies with national and club sides.

2013 Winner

In 2013, the Ballon d'Or was won by Cristiano Ronaldo dos Santos Aveiro. The Portuguese contributed to 84 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal combined in just 59 appearances. He finished 2nd with Real Madrid in La Liga and lost to Borussia Dortmund in the semi-finals of the Champions League. CR7 netted the ball 69 times and provided 15 assists to win the award for the second time.

2014 Winner

In 2014, the Ballon d'Or was again won by Cristiano Ronaldo. This season, Ronaldo scored a total of 61 goals in 60 appearances and provided 20 assists. The following season, Real Madrid finished third in Laliga and won the UEFA Champions League, which helped Ronaldo get his third Ballon d'Or.

2015 Winner

Lionel Andres Messi was the winner of the 2015 Ballon d'Or. In 2015, Messi was crowned for the fifth time as he scored 52 goals and provided 26 assists in just 61 appearances. While playing for Barcelona, the Argentine won the La Liga and UCL, which led him to his 5th award after winning consecutively four times from 2009-12. La Pulga also reached the final of the FIFA World Cup with Argentina, where they lost to Germany in 2014.

2016 Winner

Yeah! You got it right. It’s him again. CR7 won the 2016 Ballon d'Or for his 55 goals and 16 assists for Madridista and the Portuguese national side combined. Winning the UCL and finishing second in Laliga, as well as winning the UEFA Euro Cup with Portugal, helped him win the award. This year for Ronaldo was full of trophies and awards, collectively and individually.

2017 Winner

The 2017 Ballon d'Or was given to Cristiano Ronaldo for his impactful season. Ronaldo contributed to a total of 65 goals in 60 games. He won the La Liga Santander and the UEFA Champions League with Real Madrid. He scored two goals in the final of the UCL against Juventus, the club he joined after leaving Madrid. He won it for the fifth time, the highest at that time, equalizing Messi’s five Ballon d'or.

2018 Winner

Finally, a new contender, Luca Modric, was crowned at the 2018 Ballon d'Or ceremony after a decade of Messi and Ronaldo winning. The Croatian midfielder guided his team to the World Cup finals, where they lost to France. He won the Champions League and La Liga Santander with Real Madrid, and he was named the World Cup Golden Ball winner in 2018. The midfielder contributed to many of the essential goals during the season.

2019 Winner

Lionel Messi once again won it for you. By winning this Ballon d'Or, La Pulga again becomes the player with the most Ballon d'Or. In 2019, Leo Messi had 50 goals and 18 assists in 58 games for Barcelona and Argentina, winning the La Liga Santander and securing a good position in the UCL.

2020 Winner

Oops! You forgot COVID-19. Yup, it ruined the Ballon d'Or ceremony of 2020 as well. 2020 ended up with no winner, but there were some strong candidates. Robert Lewandowski was one of the favourites for the 2019 Ballon d'Or. The Polish striker had a perfect season with the German club Bayern Munich. Although there was no winner, so we cannot say anything,

2021 Winner

After all the controversies and many predictions, we present you with the 2021 winner, Lionel Messi. Although Robert Lewandowski was a strong candidate, Leo’s securing 3rd position in La Liga with Barcelona and winning the Copa America with Argentina secured his top spot out of all the contenders. Leo contributed to a total of 61 goals in 61 games

2022 Winner

Finally! We have a new name for the Ballon d'Or this time, Karim Mustafa Benzema. The French won, possibly everything. He won La Liga and the UCL, as well as being the top scorer, and his goals came at crucial times. He scored hat tricks and made his team win the match when they needed it the most.

Other Names

There are many other names that were top nominees, like Iniesta, Neymar, Xavi, Lewandowski, Salah, Mane, and Griezmann, and also new names who are most likely to win the upcoming Ballon d’or. The names are Mbappe, Haaland, Vinicius, Pedri, Foden, Nunez, and Gavi.


About the author

Fasih Rauf

My name is Fasih, and I am a content writer. In my articles on several websites, I had written about a wide range of subjects.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2022 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.