Cleats logo

Kylian Mbappe on rejecting Real Madrid

My decision based on PSG's 'sporting project,' not money

By Darius GheorghescuPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Kylian Mbappe said Paris Saint-Germain's "sporting project" rather than financial considerations convinced him to ignore Real Madrid and sign a three-year contract with the French champions.

The striker, who spoke at a press conference alongside PSG president Nasser Al-Khelaifi on Monday, also denied that his desire for more influence off the pitch had been part of the talks and left the door open for a possible departure in 2025.

PSG had announced on Saturday - ahead of their final game of the season against Metz at the Parc des Princes - that Mbappe would sign a new contract, bringing to an end one of the biggest transfer sagas in recent years.

"Everyone knows that last year I wanted to leave. But now things are different, sporting and personal," Mbappe said. "Leaving my country wasn't the right thing to do. There's a sentimental aspect to it, and the sporting project has also changed. ... We talked for months about the sporting project and only for a few minutes about money."

On Saturday, sources told ESPN that the 23-year-old had personally contacted Madrid president Florentino Perez to announce his about-face after days of uncertainty over his future.

"I made my decision last week," Mbappe said. "I spoke with Florentino Perez. I've a lot of respect for him and for Real Madrid. They did everything to get me there and make me happy, so I thank them for that."

Kylian Mbappe said his decision to stay at Paris Saint-Germain was for sporting reasons. Aurelien Meunier - PSG/PSG via Getty Images

Mbappe has been a longtime target of the Madrilenians, who've been on the verge of signing him on several occasions, including last summer when they made a series of offers of up to €200 million in hopes of taking advantage of his contract situation.

Madrid have been in contact with Mbappe throughout the season and believed they'd the player's word that he'd join them when his contract expires on June 30.

The striker denied that PSG had offered him the position of club captain, as well as a say in transfer policy and other key decisions, to persuade him to stay in Paris.

"I'll not go beyond my role as a player," he added. "You don't need any special responsibility to be involved in this project. There's a captain in this club, Marquinhos, and I'm not looking to replace him. I don't need to be captain to express my opinion.

Mbappe, who was born and raised in Paris, has played for PSG for five years and is the club's second all-time leading scorer with 171 goals, including a hat trick in Saturday's 5-0 win over Metz.

Asked on Monday if he wanted to stay at the club beyond 2025, Mbappe wouldn't rule out a move.

"Something I learned in football is that you should look ahead, but not too far ahead," he said. "A year ago I wouldn't have thought I'd be sitting here, and now I've signed a new contract. ... I'm focused on this new project. I don't know what's going to happen in the future. I don't know where I'll be in three years."

football
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.