Cleats logo

An Interview with the YouTube Sensation That Is: FaTaL LG

By Kira Gibson

By Kira GibsonPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like
Compass House (Anglia Ruskin University Cambridge)

When I was in Cambridge this week, I caught up with the wonder football YouTube star that is Liam Gilliland. So far in his life, he is nearly finished his first year of university and has a successful YouTube channel that not only brings him joy but has brought him a few friends. I find out what else is going on in his life and why he chose to be a YouTuber. I find out what makes him tick and who in his life he trusts more than anyone.

Before this interview, I wanted to find out a bit more about him than what I had seen through his YouTube videos. During my research, I found out that he goes to Anglia Ruskin University and studies computer games design. I asked a couple of his friends what they thought of Liam and Matthew Hewitt (19) said that he was one of the nicest guys he had ever met. Another friend who wished to stay anonymous said, “Liam is one of the best people I know and he always helps me when I need help. His kindness and loyalty to his friends make him someone who always be there for you no matter what. It’s one of the best qualities about him and one of the reasons I like him so much.”

Q) You go all over for away games, is there anywhere you wouldn’t travel for a West Ham match?

A) Is there anywhere I wouldn’t travel? There isn’t, I’d travel wherever West Ham went.

Q) What is the best part about being a YouTuber? Why do you do it?

A) The best part of being a YouTuber? Ugh, that’s err, tough one. Err, I suppose the best part is when people message me saying really, really nice things to me over the internet. I love the support I get from the comments. Responding to them is the best bit. So yeah responding to the comments is one of my favourites.

Q) What do you do outside of your Youtube and football work?

A) Err, outside of Youtube and football? I exercise a lot so I end up running tonnes of cross country distances. For instance, I have ran from my place to Hyde Park and back which is over 11 miles with my dad before. I also love spending time with my family, they are always there for me and so supportive of everything I do.

Q) Outside of your Youtube work, you go to university am I correct? How does this impact your work?

A) Not really much at all, cause I do all the editing and replying to comments on the weekends. If I do reply during the week and stuff, erm, that’s just replying to comments. But I don’t really do much editing on the weekdays. But unless there’s a mid-week kick off for West Ham, then I will be editing right after the game, so I get a few late nights

Q) Do you enjoy taking a break from travelling around the country for football matches?

A) Err, yeah. To be fair to you, it’s fantastic cause I’ll never get used to travelling all over the country, it’s tiring, don’t get me wrong but it’s an absolute experience to be able to meet new people, see new cultures, cause we don’t just go to watch the football, we actually explore the area as well. We don’t always have time but when we can we explore the area as well. It’s not just about just going to the football, it’s about meeting new people; me and my family meet new people everywhere we go.

Q) You do a computer games design course at university am I right? Have you got any advice for those who want to start university and are worried about the workload given?

A) I do Computer Games Technology, you are correct. In your first year, enjoy the first year. However, make sure you just like focus on like working as well cause it can creep up on you, especially the deadlines. All I’m gonna say is have fun, party as much as you need to, but make sure you do work cause it will come and bite you sooner or later.

Q) Just out of interest, how do you perceive the “student life?” Meaning the idea of going out drinking and clubbing most nights with your friends. I ask this because not everyone in university wants this lifestyle and some may even shy away from it.

A) Honestly, like and this is genuine; I like the club life, I do, but not too much of it. There is a lot of time where you just don’t want to do it and don’t. Do what you want to do at uni, you don’t have to do it. I know the whole stereotype of uni, students go out clubbing every night, just go out every night and party, but most of the time for me it’s not going out every night. It’s going out every now and then maybe, have a bit of fun, but most of the time it’s sitting in and maybe playing a video game or just chilling with my friends, eating food or being a Youtuber.

Q) Is there any area of your life you want improvement on?

A) My programming skills. In my life? Err, I dunno. Probably to be a bit more confident in myself, but that’s about it.

Q) When life gets tough for me, I like to turn to my friends for support. Is there anyone you turn to for support if you are stuck in life and need help?

A) Mum and dad. Family is the most important thing to me.

A passing comment Liam said to me about his YouTube channel, and something he was quite shocked and happy over, was that he has fans coming to football games, wanting to meet him and going away happy that they have met him. Now if you ask anyone, that is an amazing achievement.

The impression I got from his friends is that he is someone who is 100 percent loyal and will do anything for his friends. I even got told a story that his friend texted him when she was freaked out over something and he FaceTimed her for three hours to make sure she was okay afterwards. Liam will do anything for West Ham United Football Club, and will go to extreme lengths to make sure people know that the fans are just there for a laugh and to support their football club. Something else I got told was that the nicest thing Liam had ever done for them was let them stay at his place after uni, and just generally be supportive about everything.

So there we have it, Liam Gilliland is a fun, loving person who will go to extreme lengths to make sure that his friends and family are happy, without even asking twice. When it comes to university, Liam will study loads to get the grades he wants to hopefully get a job in the ICT sector, however, this is only his back-up job idea. Within football he will travel wherever his home team goes and is 100 percent honest about his match predictions and within his vlogs.

If you want to watch Liam’s YouTube videos, his channel is FaTaL LG and he really appreciates his fans and subscribers. To ask me any questions about Liam or if you have any questions you would like me to ask him, please email me at [email protected]

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.