Cleats logo

All You Need To Know About England Squad for the 2023 World Cup

England squad

By sports buzzPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
World Cup squad

The 13th edition of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup tournament is fast approaching, with less than a month to go for the inaugural match. The quadrennial event begins on 5th October, and for the first time, it is solely hosted by India and not co-hosted by multiple qualifying countries.

The fast-approaching men's cricket ODI tournament will happen in 10 momentous venues across India. Organised by the ICC (International Cricket Council), the 45-day tournament will feature 48 nail-biting matches among the top ten qualifying teams. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Australia, England, Netherlands, New Zealand, South Africa, and Sri Lanka are the teams who qualified to appear in this year's edition of the World Cup!

As per the initial schedule, the ICC World Cup 2023 was supposed to happen earlier from 9th February to 26th March but got delayed by a couple of months due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The final match is scheduled to happen on 19 November 2023 at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. Over several weeks, a lot of countries have announced their 15-member squad for ICC's biggest cricketing event! India, South Africa, Australia, etc. are a few nations that have revealed their star-studded line-up for the upcoming event, ahead of the deadline of 28th September.

The current World Cup defending champions, England, is the latest country to name its squad. On 17th September 2023, the England Cricket Board announced their squad for the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023. Keep on reading to know which players made the cut and which player(s) got axed, despite being named in the provisional squad.

England Squad For The 2023 World Cup

The World Cup squads are starting to roll in for the 2023 edition and we now have a fair idea about what's to expect in the upcoming tournament. The remaining teams, who are yet to name their squad have time till 28th September, 2023 to disclose the final list of players. The teams who have revealed their squad also have the same deadline, in case they wish to mix up their squad line-up.

With that being said, let's have a closer look at all the players representing England's cricket team.

When England revealed their 15-member squad, fans were quick to notice a similarity with something that happened during the last World Cup tournament as well. Jason Roy wasn’t named in the final squad, despite being named in the provisional squad. In fact, young batter Harry Brook was chosen while Jason Roy was axed out!

This came as a shock to the cricket fans as Brook's recent string of performances against New Zealand were not impressive. But his recent performance at the IPL is probably why he was selected over Jason.

As per reports, Jason is absolutely gutted at this last-minute decision to chuck him out of the team and is also questioning his international career as this is the second time he has been in this position.

Jason was sidelined due to his back spasms, so Malan stepped in. The top-order batsman and fan favourite, Dawid Malan, scored 277 runs in the recent ODI series against New Zealand and will probably open for England in all the matches. He is also one of the fastest English players to score 1000 ODI runs, in just 21 innings.

We are most excited to see Ben Stokes, who is resurrecting from his ODI retirement plans and is gearing up to play another World Cup tournament. Stokes, who played a prominent part in England's World Cup title win the last time, took part in another ODI series against New Zealand.

In the recent 3-match ODI England Vs. New Zealand series, Ben amassed 235 runs; his personal best was when he smashed 182 (181), creating the record for the highest ODI score by England's batter!

It was doubtful if fast bowlers Adil Rashid and Mark Wood would make the team or not due to their respective injuries, but both of them have managed to cement their place in the 15-member line-up after being given a clean bill of health.

We will also see Vice-Captain Moeen Ali and wicketkeeping batter Jonny Bairstow strengthening the team's stance as they are known to startle the opposing team with their respective styles.

Have a look at England’s complete line-up for the 2023 ICC Men's World Cup tournament.

England’s Full Squad For The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023:

Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, and Chris Woakes.

In the previous tournament, England emerged as the grand champions as they won their first World Cup trophy after beating New Zealand. Both qualifying teams registered 241 ODI runs in 50 overs, so as a result, England won the final match by the boundary count back rule (26-17) since the Super Over also levelled the teams' scores.

England will face their previous World Cup rivals, New Zealand, at the inaugural game on 5th October. Make sure you watch all the ICC Men’s World Cup matches on the Star Sports Network or stream it live on the Disney+ Hotstar app.

world cup

About the Creator

sports buzz

At SportsBuzz, we're dedicated to providing you with all the latest sports news, updates, and buzz. We know that sports are not just a pastime for you, but a passion and commitment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.