Cleats logo

60,000

Perhaps a True Story

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Threeohsix (CC BY-SA 4.0) via Wikimedia Commons

I was so excited to get a ticket for the football game, also known as soccer, between Liverpool, the team I had loved since I was four or six, and some other team that I frankly do not even care to remember. It may have been an Italian team since the game was in Rome, the 1976-77 European Cup. No! I googled it. It was against Borussia Mönchengladbach, a German team. No wonder I forgot them. I only remember World War Two when it comes to anything German in the 20th century, and World War One was not a ball in the park either. I remember the game as if it happened the day before, but luckily I do not remember the war, both of them, since I was not even born. Lucky me, I suppose.

Everyone was dying for such a ticket and I only got it because of my aunt Perla, a real pearl, who lived in Rome at the time, and got me the ticket knowing that I would love her forever after that. I would have without the ticket, but it is true that I loved her even more after the game and even before. Not only was I going to see the final of the European Cup, but Kevin Keegan as well, my favourite football player of all time, more than Maradona, even more than Pelé. I was in heaven at 14 years of age. All my friends were happy for me but crying inside. I would have cried too had I been one of them.

She picked me up at the airport, treated me as if I was her son, she had three daughters, and the rest is a blur since I only remember the game. The score was 3 to 1 for Liverpool, of course. Why so soon? you may ask. Because it happened close to 44 years ago and that it is not the point of the story. Even the title is surely an indication. There were 60,000 fans in the stadium. That is the number that I could never forget. There were probably less or more. Who really cares? My friends back at home cared when I returned happy but blasé.

What happened? they asked. Tell us! How was the game. Liverpool won, they all shouted in excitement, and you saw them score three goals. What a lucky guy (boy, really)! Why are you silent? What happened?

Sixty thousands, were the only words that came out of my mouth.

Sixty thousands, what? they all asked in unison.

Sixty thousands, I replied.

Sixty thousands, what? they kept asking.

Sixty thousands, I kept answering.

Come on! they all pleaded.

Sixty thousand fans and the bird shit on me, I finally replied.

They all laughed and I eventually joined them, but I never forgot my luck. I got to see Liverpool win the European Cup, but a bird had to ruin it by letting go of its white shit all over me, 1 out of 60,000, and on my new red Liverpool shirt. It may be the reason why I dislike and even abhor the colour red. Who knows?

...

I Prefer Silver: A Bronze Poem

If I ever run away

I’ll run a marathon

hopefully at least halfway

twenty-one kilometres (thirteen miles)

A one-hundred-metre dash

would get me out the door

or the window as one big hurdle

The four-hundred metres

would be a cinch to complete

though I would have to go back in time

when I was a rapid catch-the-bus runner

The car awaits me now

I take her whenever I miss her

lemony skin and eggplant lines

She wears dark heels

She smells

as if she has just been created

I only take her for short spins

around the food stores

She gets lonely too

I presume

She loves to run

as long as I’m in her

I’m not a car-racer though

I prefer to run for my life

I would never accept the Gold

for anything

I prefer silver

It’s less demanding

The bronze is too archaic

world cup
Like

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.