Chapters logo

UNBECOMING is returning!

I am. You are. LOVE.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
UNBECOMING is returning!
Photo by Oladimeji Odunsi on Unsplash

I experience myself to great depths, so I know that it's possible to be met the same way. And so, I honor her.. the one who loves deeply.

As an adolescent and young woman, I settled for less. I accepted "love" that came my way in any form, desperate just to feel *something. Anything.

My worth tied into the way other people felt about me. I outsourced my sense of self and put her in bad places. Further perpetuating the stories of not-enoughness. Telling myself, if I just loved harder, it would all change. Except, it never did.

My worth is now no longer tied into...

- if he likes me

- if he messages me back

-if he wants something more with me

- if he calls

In the past, I have been anxiously attached. I've also played the avoidant. It's an interesting paradox. Wanting the very thing, and then pushing it away out of fear that they'll do it first. I know this pattern well.

It is possible to heal these wounds. To regulate your nervous system. To learn how to hold yourself through it all.

To become your lover, first and foremost.

ResolutionDating

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Omgggg I've done the same thing too! If I feel that I'm becoming attached to someone, I'll kinda pull away, so that I leave before they leave me. Now I'm just prioritising myself. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.