Chapters logo

The Window'

"The View from Within"

By Isra SaleemPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
1
The Window'
Photo by Rob Wingate on Unsplash

I still remember the day I moved into my new apartment, excited to start a new chapter of my life. As I unpacked my boxes and settled in, my eyes kept drifting to the window in my living room. It was a large, bay window with a comfortable seat and a stunning view of the city skyline.

At first, I thought it was just a nice feature, a pleasant addition to my new home. But as the days went by, I realized that the window had become so much more than that. It had become a reflection of my mood, a mirror to my soul.

On good days, when the sun was shining and the birds were singing, I would sit by the window and feel alive. I would watch the people walking by, the cars driving down the street, and the trees swaying in the breeze. I felt connected to the world outside, like I was a part of something bigger than myself.

But on bad days, when the rain was pouring down and the sky was grey, I would sit by the window and feel lost. I would stare out at the gloomy view, feeling trapped and alone. The world outside seemed cold and unforgiving, and I felt like I was stuck in a prison of my own making.

As time went on, I began to notice a pattern. Whenever I was feeling down, I would find myself drawn to the window, as if seeking comfort or solace. And whenever I was feeling up, I would avoid it, as if afraid to confront my emotions.

One day, I realized that the window was more than just a reflection of my mood – it was a symbol of my inner self. It represented my hopes and fears, my dreams and doubts. When I looked out at the world, I was really looking inward, searching for answers to the questions that plagued me.

I started to use the window as a tool for self-reflection. When I felt lost or uncertain, I would sit by the window and ask myself questions. What am I afraid of? What do I want to achieve? What kind of person do I want to be?

The window became my confidant, my therapist, my friend. It listened to my thoughts and feelings without judgment, offering a silent comfort that I couldn't find anywhere else.

As I sat by the window, I began to notice the world outside in a new light. I saw the beauty in the everyday moments – the way the sunlight filtered through the blinds, the sound of children laughing in the park, the smell of freshly cut grass.

Today, as I sit by my window, I feel a sense of peace and contentment. I know that the world outside is full of ups and downs, but I also know that I have the strength to face it head-on. And when I feel lost or uncertain, I know that I can always turn to my window, my trusted friend and confidant, for guidance and comfort.

As I continue to sit by my window, I realize that it has become a symbol of hope and resilience. It reminds me that even in the darkest moments, there is always a glimmer of light, a chance for growth and transformation. And when I feel like giving up, it urges me to keep going, to keep pushing forward, no matter what.

The window has taught me that life is full of contradictions – it is both beautiful and brutal, joyful and painful. But it is in embracing these contradictions that we find true wisdom and understanding. And so, I will continue to sit by my window, watching the world go by, and reflecting on the beauty and wonder that lies within and without.

Essay
1

About the Creator

Isra Saleem

Versatile writer skilled in both tale & stories. Captivate readers with engaging content & immersive narratives. Passionate about informing, inspiring, & entertaining through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 14 days ago

    Fantástic! Well written! Very good grammar too! ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.