Chapters logo

The Interview

Lucas McGregor Saga pt 1

By Magnolia LongPublished 15 days ago 6 min read
Like

Lucas stood in the doorway to his room. Analyzing the contents of his suitcase. Do I have everything I need, he nervously thought to himself as he fumbled with the zipper and hauled the suitcase down the hallway and out to the truck. My keys, where are my keys? Frantically, he ran back into the house and into the dining room. Ahh there they are lying on the table exactly where he had left them right next to the airline tickets. Damn, where is my head? Ok all set. Let’s go he mumbled. I’m gonna be late.

Making his way to the airport just in time to board, he flops into his seat and prepares for takeoff. Why did I agree to this interview? I’m retired damn it. The plane starts it taxiing and prepares for the lift off. Lucas grips the arm rest. God I hate flying. He sat there in that small claustrophobic seat rereading the mysterious letter he had received requesting his presence. The whole thing seemed off, but his curiosity wouldn’t allow him not to go. The plane shudders. He closes his eyes and takes a deep breath, anything to keep his mind off the ever-present turbulence. Next time I’ll drive he laughed to himself. The two-hour flight was over before he knew it. Plenty of time to get a rental, find a hotel, and get a shower before the interview that afternoon. Walking towards the rentals he notices a man wearing a nice suit standing by the doors holding a sign with his name on it. Lucas approaches the man. I am Lucas McGregor. Wonderful. Grabbing Lucas’ suitcase, the man turns and say, please follow me sir the car is waiting. The car? Yes sir, all your travel needs have been arranged. Come, I will take you to your hotel and be back to pick you up at noon to take you to your interview.

Standing in the window of his massive hotel room, compliments of the company that sent for him, he looked out at the hundreds of skyscrapers and taxis. All of the sudden he wasn’t so sure he had made the right decision to come. What has he gotten himself into this time?

As Lucas approached the massive glass-covered skyline building, he stood there for a moment to mentally prepare himself. What does this company want with him. They went through a lot to find him. But why?

Making his way to what seemed like the hundredth floor, the elevator doors open, and his eyes fixate on a huge room filled with men in expensive suits and briefcases. What am I doing? He checks in at the front desk and turns to go sit and wait. A voice pierces the silence. Mr. McGregor, a soft gentle voice echoed out towards him. Lucas McGregor? He finally snapped out of it and abruptly replied, Yes ma’am, which gains a smile from the strikingly beautiful woman beckoning his attention. Mr. Jones will see you now. Oh, thank you Ma’am. Another smile creeps across her lips and she leads him down a long corridor.

You’re not from around here, are you Mr. McGregor. No Ma’am I am far from home unfortunately, Ms….? Gardner, she softly speaks. Elizabeth Gardner. I am Mr. Jones’ personal assistant. Where is home Mr. McGregor? Please call me Lucas. Texas as of now. Texas, she innocently laughs. I wouldn’t have guessed it with that accent. Oh well my family is from Ireland. Ahh, she smiles an Irish southern gent huh. Well Dorothy you’re not in Kansas anymore she laughs as she stops at the end of the hall in front of a set of massive oak doors. I will let Mr. Jones know you are here. Thank you, Ms. Gardner. Please call me Elizabeth. This time a smile comes to Lucas’ lips. Thank you, Elizabeth.

She disappears behind the large double doors leaving Lucas standing there smiling. What the hell was that he laughed to himself. The doors opened and far across a large room was a tall man standing behind a marble desk.

Ah Mr. McGregor please come in.

Lucas cautiously approaches the desk scanning the room and taking in the setting. I assure you, Mr. McGregor, you are safe here, please relax. I trust your flight and hotel were to your liking?

Lucas approaches and extends his hand. Yes sir, everything was just fine. Thank you.

Wonderful. Now, Mr. McGregor, let us get down to business. I have heard a lot of good things about you. Your former supervisor highly recommended you. Seems it is right up your ally.

Forgive me sir, but I am not sure what it is you are looking for. The letter was less than descriptive.

Let’s just say your previous affiliations and skills sets are perfect for this position.

I apologize Mr. Jones, but I disappeared for a reason. I left that world a long time ago.

Smiling as he takes a drag off his cigar. Some things have come up that need special attention, Special skills, this is exactly why I found you.

Lucas, who had still been scanning the room, turns and looks Mr. Jones in the eyes, ok, I’m listening.

I am looking for someone of your background and expertise Mr. McGregor, so how does 6 figures starting pay sound? Lucas stares blankly at Mr. Jones. Forgive me sir, but what exactly does this job entail?

Mr. Jones looks up and smiles as he takes a sip from his glass. I prefer my whisky neat. Would you like a drink, Mr. McGregor? Then we can talk of your duties.

Lucas smiles and says, of course. Elizabeth walks over to the counter and returns with a glass of whisky. Lucas smiles and graciously accepts the drink lightly caressing her fingers with his.

Properly train my men to guard and protect. That’s it. I run a tight ship. I need immediate obedience to orders. Can you teach that Mr. McGregor?

A smile runs across Lucas’ face. Of course I can. From whom or what do you need protection from?

Mr. Jones sits his glass on the desk and says come take a look at something. Lucas places his glass down and walks over to the large window. Mr. Jones places an arm around Lucas’ shoulders and pulls him in close. You see all those people aimlessly wandering. Fragile, completely unaware of the world outside their phones and daily routines? It is not I who needs protection; they are the ones in need. I simply offer these services at a fee. Do you understand?

Lucas turns and looks down at the people of New York. Yes sir, I do believe I understand. Good, then we have a deal? Lucas glances over to Elizabeth who hasn’t taken her eyes off him, walks over to the desk, grabs both glasses and returns handing Mr. Jones his glass. Yes Mr. Jones, we have a deal. Wonderful, I will send for you soon and introduce you to your men. Until then I am sure you are tired from your travels. Ms. Gardner, please see to it that Mr. McGregor finds his way back to the hotel and has anything he needs. Elizabeth smiles and says my pleasure sir, this way Mr. McGregor.

As Lucas turns to walk out of the room, Mr. Jones speaks up. Loyalty is key in this organization, understood?

Very clear sir Lucas says placing his glass on the counter and walking towards the door.

Oh and Mr. McGregor, welcome to the family.

Part 1MysteryFictionCliffhanger
Like

About the Creator

Magnolia Long

I am just a girl who loves life and is willing to share my adventures with you all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.