Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Two

Second day of house sitting. Everything seems fine. But is it really?

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 5 min read
1
The Cheshire House Two
Photo by Nolan Krattinger on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

Last night was, in a word, AWESOME. I slept so well and I have never felt so cold in my room before. It's so good. I'm happy that my grandparents air conditioning is working so well. Otherwise I'd wake up in a puddle of sweat. The weather was supposed to be in the nineties today. So possibly another swim before bed. Possibly. I dunno, today's agenda is pretty much just do whatever I'm feeling. But I don't really feel like doing much of anything.

Maybe I'll just write in you for a little while. Doodle some pictures or something like that. Maybe start a few games that I like and we'll see how things go. But I dunno. Hell I might really do nothing today aside from take in the mail, feed the fish, and maybe watch some T.V. Not a bad idea, but I wanted to be a bit more productive today. Oh well. I got the entire summer to be productive. And I can find so many ways to be productive around here. There's so much to do. It's hard to pick just one thing, ya know what I mean?

Anyway, last night I made myself this huge pizza. It was kind of nice. Chicken and spinach with this ranch drizzle. It was amazing. I only wish I had some parmesan bread to go with it. But beggars can't be choosers. And I did have some good soda. Black cherry stuff that was just so good. Came in these bottles too. I didn't have an opener so I used a dishtowel to open it. Ya know, wrapped it around the top and twisted it. Makes opening the thing easier than backhanded obviously. And anyway, I had fun drinking these too. It's weird how soda tastes better in a glass bottle. Well in my opinion it tastes better in a glass bottle. I kind of wish I could have the other sodas like that too. But oh well. It isn't going to kill me.

I had a nice swim afterwards and took a shower too. Mostly to just get myself more relaxed before I fell asleep. It worked pretty nicely. It was kind of cool having something like that in my backyard. I mean we used to have a swimming pool, but it got ruined. I think a neighbor messed it up when he got drunk, I dunno. Speaking of neighbors. There's one who is kind of weird. And he kind of was watching me last night. It was a little freaky. My guess is that he's just weird and does people watching or something. I ain't that sure or all that invested so I don't really give a rip. It isn't like he's doing anything wrong anyway. Just watching me. But I will be sure to lock the backdoor tonight. It's just better to be safe, paranoid as all out,than sorry. Cuz ya just never know with people.

Any way, I'm going to be doing fun stuff. So I'll catch you later, journal. Hopefully my night won't be too boring. But who knows. It might become interesting. Or not. I dunno. I'll find a way to entertain myself one way or another.

Laters,

Morticia

_____________________________

Okay, so there's something weird in the storage closet. I hadn't noticed it before. It looked like a door. Like in Coraline. But with a small, easy to miss handle. After I got the stuff out of the closet, I managed to get the door open. It lead to a dark room that smelled musty and hot air come out. Like it was sealed shut or something like that. I wanted to go in, but it just seemed very weird. And I shut the door. Put everything in front of it. Then I locked the storage closet itself. But for the last few minutes I have been hearing this weird music and singing. Like something out of an old fashioned party that really freaks me out. It started off faint then just,obviously, grew in intensity. It sounds so loud and so real. It's like I'm under a huge party or something.

I wanna check this sound but I'm too freaked to go. And I don't wanna call the cops. What if they don't find anything up there? I could look crazy. I mean, I could leave but I don't know any of the neighbors. And-oh. The music has stopped. It was probably just my imagination. That's all it was. My imagination. Nothing more and nothing less. I won't be scared by this. It wasn't real and I shouldn't be afraid of this.

I'm going to have to set you down for a while. But I will come back down after I check it out. If it's nothing, I'll be going to bed. If I find something, I'll run out of here quick as possible. There's no way I'll stay if there's something weird.

I got everything out of there. Went into the room, turned on the light and there was old stuff. Ya know. The type of old fashioned stuff that you could make some nice money off of. Old record player, chair, and some old dolls. It looked like an old playroom that someone kept for either a collection or for a kid. But I can't be sure. Either way, I'm not going in there again. There's nothing for me to do. And I don't really like dolls. So I put it back to the way it was before, fed the fish, and decided to watch some silly movies. Just to cheer myself up over this silliness. I ain't telling anyone that I got freaked out by it or heard things. But I think my grandparents should see it when they come home. If I remember to tell them about it that is. Considering it isn't interesting at all, I'll probably forget it.

I'm kind of curious as to whether or not my Grandparents know, though. It kind of seems weird to have that in a storage closet. It must have been a kid's room or something. Either way it seems strange to have it like that. And to keep the door so small. Especially when the room itself is actually decent sized too. Kind of like the guest room but with uglier carpeting. And a whole lot more musty with big cobwebs.

Oh well, goodnight.

<3 Morticia.

Horror
1

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This gave me the chills! So creepy! Heading to part 3 now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.