Chapters logo

The Cheshire House Sixteen

Something's weird about the neighbor. And they're not entirely sure what it is.

By Raphael FontenellePublished 5 months ago 9 min read
2
The Cheshire House Sixteen
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Hello Journal,

We had gone to our job just an hour ago, things seemed fine. And we've been spending time trying to not go back to my Grandparents house. This was going to be a difficult venture and I was worried that we'd find some rotting shambling corpse. The spirit that was trying so hard to protect us from whatever danger it believed was around. I know that expecting to see him walking around is stupid. In fact it's really stupid and I'd smell him pretty easily if he was hiding around the place. But Trevor and myself haven't been that wise lately.

Then again, his body would be too weak to hurt us. Or even be able to walk quick enough to catch up to us. Ambrose's body was pretty well decomposed. But I'm afraid that we wouldn't be lucky and Trevor's anger would somehow make the body strong. His wrath fueling the body to become a monster like Jason Voorhees. And I know that it is far fetched to believe that Trevor could do it. But the fact that he's able to even sorta use a dead body, as headache inducing as that is, I can't see how he can't hurt us. It isn't like he hasn't been an ass to me before he got himself a gross maggot ridden suit.

And thanks to this idea, we're arming ourselves to the teeth. I've gotten a decent sized hammer just in case Trevor wasn't himself. Or in case Ambrose was around the place in Trevor's old decaying skin. If it's act...nevermind. Raven has gotten a few large knives. They're from her collection of them and she's strapped them to her thighs. We look like as paranoid as we feel but I'm not taking any damn chances. In horror movies,the only person not armed is the first to die. Even if Trevor was a nice person, I don't trust reanimated corpses.

Even if they have well-intentioned people inside a rotting corpse shell.

We're on our way over to the place and I'm so worried that we'll find something. I was annoyed last night and it felt like it wasn't logical. But now that I realized that I might be face to face with a rotting corpse...it occurred to me how scary it actually it is in real life. When this kind of thing is happening to me. I've never been more scared to be confronting someone like this. Someone that I had seen in my nightmares. Spoken to through an ouija board. And I had this horrible feeling that something was going to happen. Not some psychic feeling that there was going to be something bad happening. But this deep feeling that he'll be there and we'll either have to beat him up. Or that we'll be dealing with him as well as his father in a freaky body. And we're at least nine blocks away from my Grandparent's house. I'm going to be turning on some songs to pump myself up. Just something awesome to steady our nerves to make us wanna run in and take this head on. Anything to stop feeling like a God damned 'fraidy cat at this point.

We've started listening to 'Fight Like a Girl' by Emilie Autumn and I'm going to stop writing. I'm going to continue writing in a couple of hours. Writing this is making me lose focus.

Laters,

Morticia

______________________

When we got out of Raven's car, the neighbor from across the lake was waiting for us on the front porch. He told us that he had seen someone walking around the property. And that he had come over to check it out. When he found nothing, he decided to wait for me to ask if I had expected someone. I wasn't. So he offered to help us check out the place just in case. He said that he would feel guilty if he just left us alone to search. And got hurt because he didn't bother to do a more thorough search of the place.

This seems so wrong. But I'm not entirely sure why it is. And there's something off about the neighbor's attitude. He's behaving even creepier than usual. But that could be my mind's way of freaking me the heck out.

______________________

We're stuck in the basement and we're not able to get out. I realized why something was wrong. His story wasn't right. If he had seen some weirdo just walking around the property, why not call the police or something. Why wait for a teenage girl to come home to do anything at all? It didn't add up. Raven was already on high alert when she saw him. When he offered to stick around to protect us, I just suggested calling the police. But he kept going on and on about how they weren't a help. And that last time they didn't seem to find anything. Asking me flat out that if they couldn't find a corpse then how could they find a prowler.

We all kind of stood there in silence. Because we hadn't shared this information with anyone. And I doubt the cops were going around posting things on a missing corpse from a random house. So he tried to talk his way out of it. But I ignored him as I called the police on my phone. When I heard the lady on the line say hello, he smashed my phone on the ground. Stomped on it as I ran over to Raven with my hands on my hammer. She had gotten her knives out as we looked up at him. The man turned to us as he bellowed,"I did not spend all of these years fixing up my good for nothing son's body just to have bratty little kids ruin it for me!"

But instead of just letting him continue, we attacked. I didn't get many hits in and I think all I really did was anger him. But when Raven stabbed him in the chest, he was freaking out about how we might have just ruined his new heart. Trying to pull it out of himself as he screamed at us. And in our panic, we ran into the basement, and locked the door behind us. The neighbor, Ambrose, started pounding on the door in anger. He threw his whole body hard against the door, screaming how he was going to kill us. And how he was going to suffer for hurting him. I called the cops on Raven's phone and we watched the door started to splinter in as the woman told us that the police were on their way. That we just needed to hang on and hide.

There's no where to hide in a basement and he's almost got the door broken down. He's going to break in any second now...I think we're going to die. And I just realized that I'm just standing here writing in a dumb journal as I watch this. I'm going to hug Raven, then we're going to try to fight this guy again.

Wish us luck.

______________________

....the police came a little while ago. But they didn't save us from the man. Someone else had. And we're trying our best to explain what happened, lying to them that we pushed this man the stairs. That he had broke the door down, we struggled with him and he fell and broke his neck on the bottom step. But what really happened is just too messed up and convenient for words:

______________________

Ambrose was slowly coming down the stairs towards us. Until we all heard a creaking noise as a closet door opened...a not entirely human sound coming from behind us. It sounded like someone was moaning or trying to speak but couldn't form the words. When we looked behind us, it was Ambrose's body. It was Trevor, it had to be Trevor...just laying there behind us as if he appeared out of nowhere. And in a weird shuffling crawl that reminded me vaguely of the woman from the Grudge movies. His face seemed to be looking at the ground as he moved himself forward. And he came within three feet of Raven and I when he started to push himself up to his feet. Shaky, cracking bones and joints. We just backed away from him. Ambrose hadn't moved from the middle of the stairs. He was just watching in pure horror as his kid moved up to him. In a slow, shaky manner.

We watched in horror as he snapped out of it and pulled the knife out of himself. He held it up shakingly at the corpse in front of him and Ambrose wasn't bleeding. Still not bleeding despite how deep the wound probably was. He pleaded with his son to not kill him and to spare his life. All he got in response was a gravely,"No."

Trevor quickly grabbed his neck, then twisted it making this freaky breaking noise. Ambrose went limp as a ragdoll in his child's hands, clearly not even breathing anymore. Then he was thrown down the stairs at our feet and he made a horrible noise. When we looked up at Trevor, the body wasn't there anymore. And then we heard sirens...

______________________

So we continued to tell a modified lie to the police, they thankfully believed it, and let us go. And we've left for Raven's house a while ago. I called my Mom from Raven's phone and the police had informed my grandparents. I'm pretty sure that I'm grounded for not doing the sensible thing and calling them. But I don't really care. Grounded or not, I'm just happy to be alive with Raven. Being alive is really all that matters to me right now. As well as having the chance to write all this down as well.

Laters,

Morticia.

______________________

PS:

My folks decided to not ground me and my Grandparents aren't coming back early. They're just not able to just yet. Mom is paying for the door because she didn't want to punish me for hiding from a monster. But she's making me promise to keep friends over until the Summer is over. Which is fine. I told her that the person I might be dating was going to stay over. She freaked out at me for a few minutes. But when I told her that the person was another girl, she calmed down. Then she told me that she loved me and hung up. I also got a call from Stephanie and she told me to just email her if I ever need to talk. Then she congratulated me on possibly getting a girlfriend.

Mom told her.

Raven and I are going to have our first official date tonight. Right after we get done with some errands. Work and other things. Wish me luck!

Laters,

Morticia.

Horror
2

About the Creator

Raphael Fontenelle

Horror movie fan trying to write decent horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Whoaaa, wasn't expecting the neighbour to be Ambrose! So glad Trevor saved the day!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.