Chapters logo

Surival

Life of a codependent

By Tammi DPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3
Surival
Photo by Tanaphong Toochinda on Unsplash

I looked through the diaper bag one last time to make sure I had everything. Traveling anywhere with a toddler takes a lot of planning. Cheerios, diapers, wipes, a toy and a favorite book were all accounted for. Thank goodness for W.I.C, it kept food in our bellies. Molly was strapped into the stroller, and we were now ready to go. I had to find a job and quickly.

Carefully pulling the stroller through the front door, I turned to lock it. The car was with him, wherever he went to get high that day. I had to accept that if we were going to survive, I had to do it on my own. The sidewalk led to a small bridge that I had to cross to get into town. Fortunately, there was a walk for pedestrians, I slowly guided Molly’s stroller over the bridge.

By Sigmund on Unsplash

Spring was revealing itself after a harsh winter. Molly and I talked about the different birds that flew by and the many boats that were sailing down the river. Their beauty struck me, I wondered if I would ever get to experience as much peace as the birds did in the air that day.

The breeze flew through my hair, warm and pleasant, which was great because we would be walking for a while.

Once we made our we through the college campus the town opened into several streets. I followed Penn Ave which went to the left.

The only daycare was on the other side of town. There I spoke to a nice woman who looked over my paperwork from Social Services. She told me Molly could start next week. So whatever job I landed I would have to sync it to the daycare schedule. I turned my attention to the shopping center across the highway. It contained a grocery store and a pharmacy, several restaurants and a rent to own store. It seemed to be the only shopping center in that town. I had to get work, and these were my choices.

I walked in a chicken restaurant, ordered a soda and asked if I could get a job application. Sitting at the nearest table I worked on completing the application while giving my feet a break. I had to ask for daytime since that was the only hours, I could get daycare. So many employers wanted people to work nights I hoped someone could give me the hours I needed.

Once I handed the application in to the girl at the counter, she asked me to wait a moment while she got the manager. A stout blonde woman came out from behind the counter to introduce herself.

“Hi I am Diane”.

“Hi, it’s nice to meet you.” I was hoping that I didn’t look too disheveled after walking around town all morning.

She had looked over my application which listed my experience in fast food and carry out joints.

I could make food quicky, that was a skill I had to market. The other was that I would do anything to make sure Molly and I would have somewhere to live and something to eat.

So, you can only work can only weekdays?

Yes, that’s when I can get daycare.

She stopped and looked ahead for a moment. I waited eagerly for her next word, hoping that I did not look too nervous.

When can you start?

Is Monday, ok?

Yeah, come in at nine and will get you started.

The tension in my body suddenly eased. “That’s great, thank you.”

She smiled,” sure, see you then.”

We walked home relieved; we were going to get through this bad time and things would get better. I would make it happen.

Memoir
3

About the Creator

Tammi D

Hello Everyone!

I love a good story and want to be a storyteller.I hope you will enjoy my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    If this is a chapter from your life I surely hope that things continued to go your way!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.