Chapters logo

Happiness at the end of the Tunnel

- never give up

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
3

It's anazing how just a click of a button where distances were an issue, nowadays distances are covered by communication is rapidly replaced by computers. What it took weeks to reach from one point to another, now the click of a button, makes the message that could take weeks to reach their destination, now it takes seconds or even less.

Yep - I'm here....

A faint beeping- a working truck backing up. It's 9:00pm. Maybe our friends truck neighbour. Our parking space in the front garage could easily allocate 4 cars, this white truck made our friend look like the 'Lord of the Skies'. I think there's people outside working late on fixing the back road leading to the main road. Dust and rock, lifted up by the fast running truck trailers zipped by taking lost forgotten souls like a kid holding on tied up balloons you see on the circus. I still remember seeing our friend looking down on us with a lost sad look on his eyes. That night we came back from my doctors appointment. Yep, we were all happy, myself, yes all my test results were positive- the treatment was finally working. My illness was at bay. No remission.

A great good life

Pinto wakes me up- as usual, at sunrise. This time, the warm breeze embraced everyone in the Finca- a farm where coffee, cane sugar, potatoes snd healthy life was praised. My brother DRIGO- the younger of the sibilinos woke up earlier eagerly waiting for me to plan the next mischievous exploring tour we could go through the jungle, fighting gods and monsters, climb big canopy treetops and saving humanity from the hands of evil forces. Yes, we were invencible. Our. Weapons, bamboo poisonous arrows, Granada's and long range riffles, we were the best commando in the world!

Our transport Shadow and Milo our best devoted horses transported us through all the fired ignited fields of the south hemisphere, we've dragons ate and dismembered humans with no mercy and celebrated it with aguardiente.

The beast on the other side of the world

The big beast that was destroying the side of my emisphere was terrorism. A way if protesting agains the government was planting its seeds and the food was coming imported from other countries. I always left home to school with the fear that I wouldn't come back. That fear that disappeared once u reached my second home, my castle where the big army would save me and nurture me with new information. The only problem- after midday these soldiers would go home, the doors close and my dear soul fighters would go back to their barracks at sundown and demons would come out eager and thirsty for new blood and soft juicy meat.

Who was first? It was a fight between exposing myself to reality or fight the modern demons.

The beast on the other side of the world

The big beast that was destroying the side of my emisphere was terrorism. A way if protesting agains the government was planting its seeds and the food was coming imported from other countries. I always left home to school with the fear that I wouldn't come back. That fear that disappeared once u reached my second home, my castle where the big army would save me and nurture me with new information. The only problem- after midday these soldiers would go home, the doors close and my dear soul fighters would go back to their barracks at sundown and demons would come out eager and thirsty for new blood and soft juicy meat.

Who was first? It was a fight between exposing myself to reality or fight the modern demons.

Autobiography
3

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.