Chapters logo

Chloe Gilholy wrote a beautiful Renga before Hannah's asked us to Renga. We need more Rengas.

I just love saying RENGA!!!! (Chap 4 of Talented Writers).

By Novel AllenPublished 13 days ago 3 min read
7
Black Dahlia stories inc

While perusing Hannah's exciting trip to Japan and all of the regaling tales of her bitter-sweet journey...which then made me want to visit the beautiful Japanese country, I learned about Renga-ing.

It was then that I saw Chloe's Renga story which had been written six months ago. Chloe's Renga is presented in a kind of solo act which she did outside of Vocal. I found both of the concepts of hers and Hannah's very interesting/ Here is a bit of her Renga explanation:

A renga is a collaborative poem that follows the haiku and couplet format. In the workshop in Oxford, we started by going through some haikus and then couplets and read some traditional contemplate renga forms. Our renga was done going around in the circle. It was a lovely experience because even though our voices are unique, everything connected together.

Here is a snippet of the Haikus in Chloe's Renga:

I love how leaves fall

In the blue of November

In the drift of clouds~~~~

🍂

Can we walk together in

The silence of leaves and thought

🍃

Read the entire thing by clicking the above article.

~~~~~~~~~~

Our Chloe is a world traveler who spins beautiful magic with her words. She says she has travelled to at least 2o countries. I am so envious of that experience. I have a lot of catching up to do. Here are a few of her travel achievements.

France

"I returned back from Paris Monday night. It was awesome. It was great to be able to do what I wanted, spend my own money and not be surrounded by toxic people or people that put me down. I've been to France many times, and every visit has always been special.

One of the things I wanted to do was have a picnic with a view of the Eiffel Tower. And I managed to do it on the Saturday. France and the UK have a long history of friendship and rivalry between each other over the years. French was my favourite subject to study in School, along with history. I'm not fluent in French, but I can take part in some basic conversations. I've noticed that people were more likely to help me out when I tried to speak in French".

Portugal

"The weather is warm, not like the cold summers we are used to here. We are staying in an all-inclusive where food and drink is all provided. There’s a few swimming pools, a gym and an array of bars here. You could easily just stay here all day. My friend Vee said I must be having a treat compared to staying in the hostel in Paris, and it does feel luxurious. I feel like the hotel is like a cruise, but on land".

London

Thanks for the red phone boxes.

Thanks you underground.

Camden brings me joy

Travelling around the world

With all five senses

I’m happy to be here where the branches hover

Every street is inviting and becomes a second home

I’m happy to be here where the birds sing by orchids

Every park is enchanting and becomes another sanctuary

I’m happy to be here where my friends play cards

.................................................................

Ah, the diverse nature of life on Vocal. Chloe wanders and brings us a vast panorama of the roads she travels as she moves through life. Thank you for sharing and opening our eyes to the vast well of knowledge which awaits our sense of adventure.

Thank you, Chloe and Hannah, for the Renga experience.

.............................................................................................

TravelAdventure
7

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 11 days ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Thank you Novell for bringing her into my world. It is a much bigger place now and I feel well traveled!

  • Chloe also posts photos of her travels on Facebook and I love looking at them!

  • Miss Catherine13 days ago

    All I can say is thank you for this insight, and for introducing writers like Chloe and Hannah into our lives.

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    I'd not heard of the renga before being in Japan (though, unexcitingly, I found it on the internet. Could have been anywhere) but I was so excited to share it here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.