Chapters logo

Changeling Child - Part 6

A Jane Austen Fantasy Variation

By Natasja RosePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read

Prologue

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

By Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Try as she might, Mary’s ability to control her facial expressions was only marginally better than her ability to interpret them.

Still, at least she was in good company. She hoped that Kitty got a sketch of Miss Bingley’s face. Mary could spend some of her pin money to buy her younger sister a ribbon or a shoe rose in exchange.

Mr Darcy seemed even more agitated than before, his eyes darting toward Lizzy even as he pointedly refused to acknowledge her. At least her etiquette books had covered what to do in this situation. She rose and cursied, setting her book aside for now. “It is my pleasure, Mr Darcy.”

He bowed in return. “I wonder, Miss Mary, if I might request your next set.”

Briefly, Mary weighed the benefit of being obliged to sit out the rest of the night by refusing, against the days of Mama's ranting if she dared turn down an eligible gentleman. The prospect of being able to practise the pianoforte in peace narrowly won out. “I would be delighted, Mr Darcy.”

The etiquette books said that a young lady was always delighted to be introduced to a gentleman, and to be asked to dance. Even when she wasn't.

By veeterzy on Unsplash

Silences with strangers were always awkward, so Mary followed Lizzy's example in conversing with her dance partner. “I thought that you didn't dance, from your conversation with Mr Bingley.”

Fortunately, Mr Darcy's tendency to be straightforward, at least tonight, held true. “I can recognise a kindred soul when I see one.”

Kindred soul? Most would have used the word spirit, unless... Mary hummed a few bars of the song that lingered in her mind, the earliest memory that remained even when other infant memories had long faded away. The other Changelings she had encountered remembered the tune, too, no matter the age they had been swapped. Perhaps it was a reminder of from whence they came, or perhaps a way to recognise each other, but Mary was glad of it.

Mr Darcy was good at concealing his facial expressions, and barely winced at her musical efforts. “I learned the melody as a young boy. I was travelling to visit my Aunt with my parents when we crossed paths with a fairy queen, who took me Underhill.”

According to Mary’s warrior, such direct stealings were very rare. On the other hand, so were instances of mortals disturbing a court and walking away without punishment. Perhaps the borrowing of Mr Darcy had been as benign a ‘punishment’ as the Queen could get away with. The Fair Folk tended to concern themselves more with the letter of the law than the spirit of it.

Mary had faltered in her humming, and Mr Darcy continued the next few bars as they linked hands and danced down the line. “My parents brought me home within a week, but I was old enough to remember. If I must dance, at least it is with one who will not mistake me for having deeper intentions.”

Shy then, and uncomfortable with strangers, rather than deliberately unpleasant. Not that Mr Darcy was unjustified in either attitude, given his experiences. “Perhaps Lizzy was mistaken. It’s rare, but it happens. She said you seemed very determined against it.”

He looked something approaching repentant upon realising that his conversation had not been so private, after all. “I had not thought that I had been overheard in the noise.”

Mary tried to imitate Lizzy’s arched brow. Mimicking Papa’s expression only made her look like she was pulling faces. “It is overwhelming, but apparently not so much to... those who thrive in company. Yes, Lizzy overheard, and yes, she was offended, though she does not dwell on such things as you or I might. It does not explain why you sought me out so soon after declaring to all that you would not dance.”

Mary wondered if Mr Darcy often found himself confronted with one who he was forced to explain himself to. She doubted it, given how awkwardly the gentleman did so. “In truth, I thought to protect myself, and perhaps you.”

Mary turned as the steps demanded, and had another raised eyebrow ready by the time they faced each other again. “Protect me?”

Mr Darcy shook his head briefly. “I found myself captivated by your sister’s eyes from the moment I saw them. I have been so bewitched only once before, the day I was taken Underhill. When Mr Bingley offered to introduce us for a dance, I feared that I would be putting myself back under a Queen’s power.”

Mary desperately wanted to laugh, even as she felt sorry for the poor man. Fortunately, he appeared not to notice, or if he did, he took no offence. “If I dance a set with her, might I be forgiven? Bingley’s sisters will make his acceptance difficult enough without my unwitting help.”

Mary smiled at him. “Ask me for another set first, so I can refuse and remain unbothered for the evening. Then you may bring Elizabeth a glass of punch when you ask her, and make sure she knows it is an apology for your hasty words.”

The set ended, and Mr Darcy bowed. “Thank you. It is a relief to be able to converse without questioning my every word before I speak it.”

Well, if anyone could break through Mr Darcy’s defences, it would be Lizzy. Seeing Mama making a beeline for her as the set ended, and Miss Bingley homing in from another direction as Mr Darcy detoured to the punch bowl, Mary prayed briefly for deliverance. It arrived in the form of the oldest Lucas boy. “I’ll rescue you from interrogation for one more set if you’ll share what that was about. Papa will forget all about the punch I spilled on his cravet this morning if I come armed with gossip."

Mr Darcy had not actually asked for a second set, and obliged her to sit down, so it would be no scandal to accept. Mary had spent enough time in the Court of the Fair Folk to know how to phrase her words, especially when she was forewarned. “I accept.”

By Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

Given the choice of three eligible daughters dancing with single men of considerable fortune, Mama finally determined to focus on the ones who had been granted the notice of a second set, leaving Mary in peace.

Miss Bingley, on the other hand, could not be avoided forever, especially when she found herself in need of someone to politely complain at. With the scarcity of gentlemen in Hertfordshire, and Mr Darcy being a stranger to the community, Mary could not counternance whether it might be unusual for Mr Darcy to request a second set. Her collection of etiquette books led Mary to understand that while one was only obliged to dance a single set, a partner might be solicited for a second without raising eyebrows or expectations, if their company was enjoyable.

Clearly, Miss Bingley disagreed, though on what grounds Mary could not fathom. “I wonder at Mr Darcy dancing even once at an assembly such as this. Twice is most remarkable.”

Since Miss Bingley had yet to actually address her as a participant in the conversation, could Mary get away with returning to her book and ignoring the woman? Probably not, especially as they were meant to be welcoming the Bingleys to the neighbourhood. Mary hummed in vague agreement, eyes flickering across the room. Mr Darcy’s reserve had proven no match for Lizzy’s insistence on conversation while dancing. While at first stilted, Lizzy seemed to have finally hit a subject upon which Mr Darcy could be moved to speak.

Miss Bingley tried again, “To see Mr Darcy dancing with not one, but two women outside of his immediate acquaintance! It is very singular, is it not?”

Mary retrieved her book from her reticule again, “As you have yet to directly ask me any questions, and you would know far better than I, I must conclude so.”

Miss Bingley paused, briefly disconcerted, before forging ahead, “I do hope that being singled out by Mr Darcy for such an honour did not give rise to... any particular hopes on your part, Miss Mary. Or on your sister’s.”

At a public assembly, it would be considered an affront if Mr Darcy had danced with no-one outside his party, but a single dance was no cause for hopes of any kind. Still... Mary cast a considering look at the pair in question, whose spirited discussion had lasted throughout the set and left them in danger of a scandalous third dance. “Perhaps we should interrupt them. It would not do to show too marked a preference.”

Miss Bingley’s eyes widened in alarm, and she hastened over to attach herself to Mr Darcy’s side, even as Mr Bingley requested Lizzy’s company for a set, having done his duty to his host’s younger daughter.

Quite forgotten, and grateful for it, Mary settled back to enjoy the rest of the evening.

Read the next part here

If you liked this story, leave a heart or a tip, and follow me on Vocal and Medium!

Series

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Natasja RoseWritten by Natasja Rose

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.