BookClub logo

You Are Free

Book Review of A Court of Mist and Fury

By Sarah MasseyPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like
You Are Free
Photo by Jo San Diego on Unsplash

Once again I play the fool by writing a review of a Sarah J. Maas book only halfway through it. Chapter. Freaking. 30. If you know, you know, but I will summarize. I cried in my car on my lunch break. Here's why:

For Fayre, and I, it has been a year since a terrible thing has occurred. We fought so insanely hard for a man who wouldn't lift a finger for us, and still almost married them. Blind. Stupid. Love.

There. I said it. And proceeded to cry about it in the shower when I got home, because I don't think I have ever read about a main character who has done the same thing that I have, and worse, and still made it out.

Fayre, darling, you are at the other end of my imaginary, weird ass, eye tattoo on my left hand, to let me know I'm not alone.

I'll paint for you, until you can paint for yourself, and you fight for me until I can fight for myself. Deal? Good. Until then, let's paint the black holes in our hearts with the colors only faerie eyes can see and just breath...

We are not alone.

Review
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Massey

Sarah is an animator and short film director at the birthplace of Route 66 Springfield, Missouri. A graduate of Drury University in the class of 2020, Sarah is published two fiction short stories in Drury’s Literary Magazine, Currents.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.