BookClub logo

World War II Story

ROBIN the surviver

By sarah SmithPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
6

I have to tell you this story, and it might make me cry.It took place on a Sunday afternoon.After finishing our Sunday meal, we heard this on the radio:that the Japanese had attacked us at Pearl Harbor."Since Japan's brazen and unjustified attack,"Well, they can't do that to us, I said. We must go punish them. "The United States and the Japanese Empire have been in a state of war." Harry Robin Ledecker joined the millions of Americans bent on defending their homeland from the Axis Forces' goal for world dominance with the attack on Pearl Harbor. Robin was prepared for the day when the draft would call his name, despite the fact that he was underage at the time. He wouldn't have to wait very long.I was a child.I had not yet turned 18. I turned 18 in May, graduated from high school in May, was drafted in May, and was on in July 1943, active service.I attended boot camp at Farragut, Idaho, while I was in the Navy.I marched a lot, went out on the water, and rode a boat. We lasted there for a short while before I was sent to the Hospital Corps School. I was a corpsman in a hospital. Then they divided us up and sent us elsewhere. We then set sail for the South Pacific.We took a ship to the Fijian Islands. I exclaimed, "This is the most beautiful place I've ever seen!" when we approached Fiji. It was stunning how close the mountains were to the water. Boy, this is going to be lovely, I thought as we descended towards the dock. We proceeded to another ship, straight down the gangplank, and boarded it.After that, we traveled to Guadalcanal.Guadalcanal is now a key hub in the Ally's offensive to stop Japan's dominance of the Pacific. it had been a battle-hardened win, especially for the American Marines. The Marines encountered the ferocity for the first time during the brutal, six-month conflict. the Imperial Japanese Army. Around 11,000 Marines were brought ashore on Guadalcanal by the Allies on August 7th, 1942. who started moving swiftly after that.But before supplies and more troops could be sent to the, just two days later.Japanese Navy launched a surprise attack on the Allied fleet as it was approaching an island. he fleet withdrew after three American cruisers were sunk and three more sustained significant damage. by way of the island. The Marines were stranded and faced an unprepared and without reinforcements.enemy who was not about to give up easily.However, the Japanese forces were routed by February 1943, giving the Allies their initial victory. significant ground in the Pacific War. I was then given a job at a Guadalcanal hospital that provided medical supplies. Our location put us next to a standby hospital. We provided them with medical supplies, and we filled every ship that entered the harbor. their requests. When we first arrived there, a week or so, the only experience I had that came close to actual combat. a pair on Guadalcanal. would drop a bomb out of a plane that flew over and was a Japanese aircraft. fly off after exploring the jungle. And he would repeat his actions the following day. That continued for a week or two, maybe longer.he last time anyone spoke of him.Robin wasn't in too much danger, but he would soon learn the truth.following a fateful encounter on Guadalcanal, war broke out. I have to tell you this story, and it might make me cry. One day, as I was traveling down the street, I noticed two men walking there.I then thought, "Well, I know those guys," as I turned to face them. They're from back home!". Bruce Hollembeak in particular. He lived about a half-block away from me, and in high school, we were close friends. When I visited the Navy, I was unable to locate him. However, I noticed him there and he was a Marine. What are you two doing here, I questioned. We're on R and R., and we're about to return to our unit, he said. ”. What can I get you, I asked? Can I get you anything? We'd like a sheet, I suppose. In the previous six months, we have not slept with sheets. ”I responded, "Well, I can do that. I'll see you tonight after the movie. .We frequently attended movies that the hospital showed in the evening. The entertainment came from that. Nevertheless, we met at the theater, watched the film, and I gave him the sheet. By the way, Robin, we're leaving first thing in the morning, he added. We're returning to our encampment. ”.And I responded, "Oh, that's fantastic. ”."Let's all meet at the drugstore's soda machine when we're done with this war," I said. ”. "Let's meet there and have a cold Coke after thwar," I suggested. ”. "Robin, I'm not going to make it," Bruce said as he turned to face me. ”.Bruce, stop talking like that, I commanded. .Yes, you are, I remarked.”."No Robin, I'm not going to make it," he uttered. ”. God bless you, I said as I turned to face him. ”.shook his hand, then walked away after a quick turn. our days before turning 19 years old, he was killed. War includes that.War is a terrible thing There shouldn't be wars. We should be able to come up with a way to prevent wars. We were advancing so slowly toward the front lines during our one year stay on Guadalcanal. that they informed him, "We're going to close your unit. ”To embark on a ship for the invasion of Japan was also ordered for all of us. We were in tents when a man said, "Wake up!There is no more war. Japan was ultimately defeated nearly four years after the Pearl Harbor attack. point of complete surrender. Robin was departing for his home after the war. The Second World War's events are still having a significant impact today, more than 75 years later. Especially those who put everything on the line are remembered in relation to Robin. That's another factor that made me feel honored to attend this. About six months went by while my brother was a POW. He was a soldier. During the Battle of the Bulge, he was taken prisoner. That is one of the reasons I'm here today. I want to pay him and Bruce tribute. Simply put, I believe it's admirable to contribute to your nation. I never looked back on my time in the military. It makes me proud. I'm honored to have served my country, and I'm honored to have served.

RecommendationDiscussionChallenge
6

About the Creator

sarah Smith

I allow my words to traverse the boundaries of reality and fiction. Whether through the lens of a news article or the pages of a novel, my writing remains a beacon of enlightenment, inspiring others to contemplate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.