BookClub logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My Foxhound Who Stole Our Hearts

A True Story

By saima haider Published 4 months ago 3 min read

Let me share a vibrant chapter of my life, when I was in University and my brothers were also immersed in their own college experiences. All of us were animal lovers and no doubt we had amazing pets in our lives. My elder brother in particular had a strong affinity for pets, especially dogs. My mother had her doubts about them, but in the end, she gave in to his unshakeable enthusiasm. From here starts the amazing part of our life that still I miss.

One day, a charming English Foxhound (unfortunately I don't have any clear picture of my own dog), a breed noted for its adorable looks and a hint of unease in its eyes, was brought by a cousin. The story behind this meeting was unsettling; my cousin had discovered the unhappy animal at a workshop where naughty worker boys were torturing it. These youngsters weren't just having fun; they were torturing the dog.

Naturally, the intrinsic hostility of the Foxhound had been aroused, leading to their foolish behaviour. They had been brutal, leaving the helpless puppy tied and helpless as a result. They were throwing water on the helpless animal with a pressure pipe that is used to wash vehicles. It was clear that these cruel people had mistreated the unfortunate creature over an extended period, giving it a deep-seated dread of water similar to hydrophobia.

How Love and Patience Helped The Dog Conquer its Fears

My cousin quickly stepped in to save the puppy from the grasp of its tormentors. He trusted the dog's care to my brother because he knows how much he loves dogs. Despite the initial sadness that caused the dog to become unresponsive, love for all of us blossomed at first sight. Within a few days, the dog's kind and perceptive personality came through. During this time, we came to fully understand the English Foxhound breed's extraordinary traits, which, to be honest, much beyond our expectations.

This amazing canine lovingly referred to as "KATTU" to me and "Tiger" to others, I developed a special friendship that will always be etched in my mind. He responded to the name "KATTU" only when I used to call him by this name. For others he was Tiger. He easily assimilated into our life and helped create a lot of our most treasured memories.

Our frequent visitors and family friends would bring ice cream for KATTU. One day when he came one without ice cream, KATTU, stopped him from coming in and looked at him as asking "My ice cream?" Unknowingly, his feeling of duty and bravery transformed him into a protector, discouraging even strangers from coming too close to our house. This was especially true for boys who used to climb up our boundary wall because there was a mango tree always inviting the passers by to pick kairi fruits.

A Sad Goodbye

After few years I think three years tragically, KATTU died from poisoning, the cause of which remained a perplexing mystery. He had such keen judgment that he would never have eaten anything contaminated. Our beloved pet died from the virus despite medical interventions to save him from it.

I do remember his last day in the morning when he was unconscious. I thought it died. I called him KATTU and it was my fault. Because he immediately responded. My heart is still punctured by the fruitless effort he made to stand up before continuously stumbling. I really regret that fateful statement since it not only caused him pain in his dying moments but also acts as a continual reminder of the tragic loss we suffered.

Beyond Woofs: The Intricate Language of Dogs in Human Interactions

He was animal but sensible enough to avoid barking at people who were regular visitors to our home, demonstrating its understanding and familiarity. However, what to say about those humans who intentionally provoke animals and brutally treat them just for their amusement

Author

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Great work! Enjoyed!!!!

SHWritten by saima haider

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.