BookClub logo

Clora’s Cry

Family by J. California Cooper: The story that changed me forever…

By Real PoeticPublished 11 months ago 2 min read

Clora, a mother and ghost, follows the lives of her four children: Always, Sun, Peach, and Plum. The book is from Clora’s perspective while she’s already dead. She ended her own life with poison in efforts to save her family from slavery; she attempted to take her children with her but failed.

The book changed me forever, because it taught me that I could feel the pain of a character that I never met. I learned to sympathize from reading this distressing but unalloyed story. Clora loved her children so much that she decided the only way for her kids to be free was to die. I cannot even fathom what it was like to be a slave, so I don’t even judge her. That’s what makes the story so incredibly special.

J. California Cooper created a character that I wish I could bring back from the dead, yet she had never even lived; however, she was real inside of my head. Although the book is a historical fiction, I’d bet my entire five dollars from my last top story that there once lived a slave similar to Clora.

Read this book if you’re an ungrateful, complaining American that needs to travel back in time to feel grateful for being born in today’s society.

It’s also a great choice for anyone who wants to know more about how slavery impacted African American families. Enslaved mothers in particular suffered when their owners would sell their children to other plantations.

Clora’s protective instinct for her children showed me that a mother’s love is truly unconditional, and most women will do whatever it takes to give their offspring the best possible opportunities at peace and happiness, even after death.

I cried the night I finished reading this spectacular novel. The author made the audience care about the well-being of these innocent children. It’s the first page turner I’ve ever been introduced to.

I remember the day my aunt handed me a copy and told me it was a book I had to read; she was right. She has the greatest taste in literature.

If you have family that you’d do anything for to see their smile, then this is definitely something you should grab from your local library.

(Warning: Have a box of Kleenex and your favorite ice cream near when you read it.)

RecommendationFiction

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination.

Thanks for reading!

-R.P. ❤️

[email protected]

Instagram: therealpoetic

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Real Poetic is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Real PoeticWritten by Real Poetic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.