BookClub logo

A title that should be unforgettable

yet forgotten

By Sarah urfferPublished 9 months ago 7 min read
2
(Magic World - JonarNL Music)

Flash back to 2013 here I am walking the path in Santa Monica California looking out at the beach. Mind you I was at the part where there is a cliff and a railing blocking you from falling off. You have a nice vantage point of the whole beach, and a beautiful view of sunset from there. Walking in the direction of the pier, I noticed a book left on the top of the fence. Seeing nobody around, I grab the book and began to read.

I’ve read this book at least six times since I had it in my possession. A captivating plot that took me out of the world into a fantasy land, but still based loosely in reality. I wish I could remember the name of this story. It was an older book, the pages yellow from age believe it was written in the 60s. I used to read this book aloud to my friend while I use the British. I love to make him laugh, and for some reason reading this book out loud in a British accent, did the trick.

So the story itself begins with finding individuals on earth to help save a magical land. This land is being destroyed and overtaken by a great evil. So a wizard set out to find individuals on earth that were willing to fight for a second chance at life and help save those they do not know.

By Dmitry Vechorko on Unsplash

So this wizard old man searches the earth for people at the brink of death. One person broke their leg in a desert, they crawling and pulling at the ground and hopes to get closer to somebody who could save them. As they continue to slither, if you would in the ground, they found themselves surrounded by snakes. With an already broken leg they couldn’t get away from the snakes and ultimately we’re about to get bitten. The wizard appeared and offered them an option. You could die here, or you could come with me, and help save a magical land and in return, I will give you life a new.

Naturally, the individual shows the option of life. Then poof off they went. The next person, a great swimmer, their leg became trapped. Tangled around some plants at the bottom of the lake. They drop their knife and couldn’t seem to untangle. At their nearly last limit of holding their breath, the wizard appears. He offers the same deal offers a chance at a new life and exchanged for helping his world. Of course he excepts.

So this wizard goes to find a few more others. One an expert rock climber climbing a rock face, and then the worst thing happens, loses footing. As his falling to his death, the wizard pops in and as his fellows before him, he also chooses a second chance at life, then poof off they go.

The wizard than finds a woman in the woods about to be eaten by wolves, and she wears a wolf necklace. The wizard offered her the same deal as the others, and she also accepts and then off they go.

By Cam Adams on Unsplash

These people all appear in different spots in the magical world. They all are with creature people of that world who teach them the ways of their magic. Each of which are taught a different ability in their new world. They train for many months, and then they are set off to help save the world. As one person meets up with another, they walk together to meet others they would connect with a long to the tower where the evil lived that they needed to destroy. They had to work together, in order to save the land for a chance at a new life. And only if they survived, would they be given a chance to live again on earth.

They were struggle at first they all trained hard for life is what they wanted, and never once did they give up. They battled great odds on the way to the tower and all together they reach the tower, and there came a point where one person would have to sacrifice themselves in order for the others to move on, and save the land. And get life anew. And the sacrifice was made. The rock climber, who learned how to move the rocks created a way for the others to enter the tower.

By Adel on Unsplash

The story goes on the show, how, although these people did not know each other, they were united with the same Motivation to live again. The fact that all of them want this new life yet one by one they were each willing to take the role to save this world. A world which they did not grow up in. sacrificing their chance at new life for these lives in this magical realm. They were good at heart, and they could not take the thought of all these good people of this land losing what they loved, and ultimately losing their lives as well. This is why they were chosen.

By Javardh on Unsplash

I found this book, so lovely and motivating that even though it might not be your world, it’s important to help others because ultimately it helps you grow in character and strength. It makes you a person who is personable and not just stuck in your own existence. It opens your eyes to see the bigger picture. And even though they all wanted this new life they gave it up to save the many.

I took this book and read it again, and again. I started working or rather helping the homeless community in both the Santa Monica and Venice area. I the growth you get from helping others is worth everything in the world. That is a big message that this book sent me and hopefully others who have also read it. While working, and helping at the money centers. A gentleman always saw me reading this book. he was homeless but very kind. So when he asked me about this book he said it must be good because I’m always reading it and it’s not a large book so he knew I must be reading it again. The pages were worn, and you could tell by the way they separated that I had been the booking have pages turning many many of times.

By Andrew Draper on Unsplash

So when this gentleman asked to read this book I passed it along. And when he finally read it, he said this is a wonderful read. He read it twice and then also pass it along to somebody else who saw him reading it. And although he was homeless, he was also super helpful. Every time I saw him he knew I was going to be dropping meals off to others. Along the beach, who might not have been able to make it up to the feeding centers. He offered to help as he said it’s important to make sure my fellows who can’t walk easily are also not going hungry.

This experience in California was one of the most memorable and eye-opening experience. The book sends the message out there that everybody no matter your circumstances should consider what you working at or fighting for in this life. We should all be working together for a better tomorrow not stepping on one another just to get ahead. The best part was the end of the story. When the one person survived, defeating the great evil, and saving that realm. The great wizard appeared and offered their new life. To which they replied, they already have it, and said to give it to the others for without them, they would not have been able to do this. All the others had sacrifice themselves for the realm, and now we’re given life a new.

By qinghill on Unsplash

I so wish I could remember the name of the book. I remember so many details I wish I had kept a record of the books name or anything about it other than just my memory of the story alone. It was so moving and motivating that even though I haven’t read it since 2014 I still remember the detailed, visual memory I created while reading it.

I’ve always had a drive to help people. Never have I enjoyed watching others struggle, I always step in to assist. It’s a deep message in this story that will always have relevance fight or flight. Even though something horrible happen to the world around you, it’s never to late to work together to create a better future. Everything is worth the fight even if you potentially have no chance to bathe in its light. It’s always worth it to provide a future for generations to come. To know you can live and grow in life happily knowing others will join standing up and sacrifice everything for a future and lives never to be met.

Oh how I wish I could recall the title of this amazing magical adventure. Maybe one of you will know this book.

Discussion
2

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.