BookClub logo

A Boy and His Dogs

Humility, Heart, and plenty of Huntin'

By Kurt MasonPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Like

When I say that “Where the Red Fern Grows” has been on my TBR pile for a long time, I mean a long time. I remember ordering this book out of a flyer that was sent home during elementary school. Needless to say, it has taken me over twenty years, but I finally decided to sit down and give this book a try. I was filled with nostalgia and emotion as I read this touching tale of the love between a boy and his dogs.

“Where the Red Fern Grows” by Wilson Rawls is a classic that has touched the hearts of many. Young Billy, desperate for his own set of hunting hounds, tirelessly saves up enough money to get himself a couple of pups. With the love and support of his grandpa, parents, and younger sisters, Billy is given the opportunity to make his dreams come true. As his love for his dogs continues to grow, Billy trains Old Dan and Little Ann to be the best coon hunting hounds around. With instinct, skill, and a bit of luck, Billy and his hounds become known throughout the county for their prowess and ability to take down coons. As their hunting escapades take them on countless adventures and dangerous journeys, Billy knows that Old Dan and Little Ann will never give up a coon, or give up hope. With a few close calls along the way, Billy learns just how protective his beloved hounds can be toward himself and towards each other.

What I liked the most about this book was the way that Rawls was able to create such a palpable love between Billy, Old Dan, and Little Ann. The compassion, tenderness, and affection that Billy has for his dogs–and that his dogs have for him–reaches out and touches that tender part of the soul that every animal lover has when it comes to their pets. Although I never had hunting hounds, it certainly made me miss my childhood dog.

Another thing that I liked about this book was that it stayed true to its targeted audience. This book seems to be intended for middle-level male readers, and I think that this book captures what many young boys at that age want to engage in. Statistically, it is much harder to engage younger boys in reading, but when given a story with action, adventure, the wilderness, and the love of a dog, I think that most readers–boys and girls alike–are able to find something that’ll hold their attention. Reading this as an older reader, I viewed the story with a greater sense of nostalgia, but, I think if I were reading this as a much younger reader, I would have been on the edge of my seat.

For me, I got lost a bit in the hunting aspect of the story. I’ve never hunted coon, or been around a community of people that do, so there were moments when I felt a little lost regarding the ins and outs of coon hunting, but it certainly didn’t ruin the story or prevent me from getting excited and caught up in the action.

Just as a warning, this book talked about wounds, injuries, and blood much more than I would have expected, but that comes with the territory of reading about hunting adventures.

Overall, I thought the book was a great story and certainly highlighted the special place that dogs hold in our hearts. I think I would have enjoyed the book more as a younger reader, but I would still recommend this book to any dog lover who is looking for an action-packed, heartwarming tale of love and loss.

3 out of 5 stars

ReviewRecommendationReading ListFictionDiscussionClub
Like

About the Creator

Kurt Mason

Teacher • Writer • Reader

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.