BookClub logo

14 Day Object Writing Challenge

A challenge introduced by KJ Aartila, writer on Vocal Media, and her inspiration is Pat Pattison’s book “SONG-WRITING WITHOUT BOUNDARIES”.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a month ago 4 min read
5
14 Day Object Writing Challenge
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

My friend who has a master's degree in poetry told me that I have a lyricist in me. That was good news as I don’t think I am a poet, and I am much better at rhyme and storytelling. So, a lyricist sounds like something I can work with.

The book I just received may help me to work toward a better fit for me. KJ is on day 10 of 14 days of the object writing challenge. Below is my start at timed writing. Day 1.

Some timed writing may end without a finished sentence or even a finished word. I’m not sure I will be able to do that. We shall see.

Timed for 5 minutes: Sky.

The sky was blue today and sunny! I love it when the sun is out as it makes so much difference in how I feel about the day and myself! I love smelling the fresh air and being out in nature on such days as this.

Evenings the sky is starry and bright! I love a full moon, even though I am sometimes affected by it. I love the stars in the sky and try my best to figure them out! I love a song about starry nights and sunny days!

Now is the time to appreciate this weather as normally it would be cold and snowy. No sun and cloudy.

Thankfully our winter passed us by this year. It’s okay for it to happen once in a lifetime, right? It can be scary though! To not know what is to come.

I hope you all are enjoying your day as much as I am enjoying mine!

I remember being a child and playing outdoors no matter the weather, the sun or rain or snow! Yes, it didn’t matter! It really doesn’t now either! I prefer the sun!

Timed for 10 minutes: Crash.

I crashed into a car that stopped right in front of me! I was looking at the full moon. I think I am affected by certain full moons. I gave him my insurance information and my insurance took care of it even though it wasn’t much damage, it can still effect the cost of future insurance.

I have been in other similar crashes. A car hit me from behind, in a similar way that I hit the car in front of me. I had to be taken to the hospital and was thoroughly checked out. I was okay physically. A cut and bruise, however, both healed with little to no after-affects.

My memory of the accident took a few years to dissipate. I learned reiki and used reiki to help relieve my memory of the incident as anytime I entered a red-light situation, I automatically thought about getting hit from behind.

I prefer not to ever crash again. I have been in instances where my vehicle has slipped on ice and moved from side to side and has scared me too until I hollered “God!”. It appeared to me that my vehicle stopped sliding and straightened out and I felt relief like I never felt relief before.

To me, that had to be a God thing. Some people say, “Prayer works!” and after that experience, I would have to say those people have it right!

I think I need to crash early tonight as I have had too much going on and really can use some extra sleep time. Except, now that I have said that, I probably won’t be able to get that extra sleep.

I have been on crash diets before and have lost significant weight. I am currently on intermittent fasting, and I have lost 1 pound per week. That feels like time to give it up. But then I tell myself, it could be a gain. Keep with it as long as it is a loss!

When there is a change, talk with someone first who gets this plan. It isn’t time to give it up as long as it is working. You say you want something that will last. So much better than a crash!

Timed for 90 seconds: Lily Pad.

A lily pad with a frog sitting right in the middle of it was so damn cute! As I walked by the pond I could see the cutest little frog and smiled as I could see another nearby. It is nice having a pond on the property.

Hopefully, they will take care of some flies and mosquitos.

~~~~~~~~

~~~~~~~~

KJ Aartila's story above is published on 3/15/24

~~~~~~~~

My story was first published in Mercury Press on medium.com on 3/14/24

ThemeChallengeAuthor
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I would die from stress if I timed myself to write, lol! I admire you for this!

  • “M”about a month ago

    Great job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.