Art logo

The life of a burlesque performer told by a showgirl.

All the glitz and glam all your need to knows!

By Madame Velvet RosePublished 6 months ago 3 min read
2

my life as a showgirl started back in early 2022, I never thought in my life a girl who was raised in a strict home of strong beliefs would become a showgirl/burlesque performer. Before I was a girl who covered everything, couldn’t listen to certain music kind of strict! But anyways I always loved to dance, I loved everything vintage. So what combines two things I love? BURLESQUE!! Burlesque got me out of my shell, made me confident, it made me love my body! Getting into burlesque was the best decision, it helps you handle the flaws you think you have, and makes you love

them! and performing in burlesque you get to shine for a night even multiple nights depends on how many gigs you get, which I love. Getting all ready, make up, hair and can’t forget the beautiful costumes you get to wear either customized by you or someone else, makes you feel like a queen! To a lot of people burlesque performers are just people who goes down to the bare minimum of clothing which they aren’t wrong! But it’s so much more than just pin ups and glamour, and barely having nothing on. it’s us putting ourselves out there on stage, learning to love who we are and our bodies, telling stories in our acts, either funny, deep or our life story or just for fun to fit a theme! That’s what life as a performer is, preparing yourself to go out on that stage with big nerves hoping the show will be amazing and the crowd will go wild! I love burlesque so much! I hope my story about burlesque and my life as a burlesque performer helped you dive into what a burlesque performer is and what we do. I recommend stepping out of your comfort zone and try something new it doesn’t have to be burlesque but something your passionate about! A life of a burlesque performer each act you do has part of you and your personality in it, it’s always new! Being a performer helps you dive into another part of yourself,we call that a part a performer persona! Burlesque is a bold art, it gets you out of your comfort zone, it’s so creative and fun. When I first started burlesque it was very new. Eventually I came out of my comfort zone, my first performance was nerve racking but exciting at the same time, eventually you open up more especially if the crowd has great energy. You’ll always be nervous I’ve been told it’s because you still care and are passionate, so never let those nerves stop! another performer lifestyle tip always make sure the gigs you are applying for has connections with other people you know that’s just a tip, not saying don’t branch out but definitely use caution. Next tip If you have a gig your preparing for make sure you are practicing, practice is a big thing in being a performer you wanna be prepared! If it’s gonna be your first show as a paid performer you wanna make sure your planning way ahead, especially if you travel, which I have to ! Make sure you have everything especially if you are traveling. Let me tell you I have forgotten things before, so make sure you plan for that as well because you will need to improvise your act! Also prepare for costume malfunctions because I have had those, they say the crowd doesn’t know when you mess up so play with it, and try not to panic. so there’s a lot that comes with the burlesque life but most importantly it’s a fun profession to be in, the community is welcoming and will always help encourage and uplift especially when your new, but the support will always be there!

Inspiration
2

About the Creator

Madame Velvet Rose

I’m a burlesque performer, I have so much knowledge and inspiration to give. My stories are relatable and will be told beautifully.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Your writing style is so captivating. I also thought it was great.

  • C.S LEWIS6 months ago

    This is great work you can join my friends and read what I have just prepared for you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.