01 logo

Zucklight

Not your average wooden box

By Miranieva BuenPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo from zucklight.com 

A wooden box.

Seeing this on Kickstarter rendered me speechless. I was simply stupefied at the sight of this box. The amount of its funding going past $200,000 was simply insane to me. Is this how people humor themselves now? Through boxes?

A picture tells a thousand words. I only saw a box with a couple of Zzz on it, signifying sleep. So what's so special about it?

When I read the description, I was stunned. At first, it did not make any sense. A box for sleep, to give you a good night's rest. The name Zucklight did not spark any idea. That is why I read about it. Google Zucklight.

That's when it all makes sense.

A little background on this Zucklight. The prototype comes from multibillionaire philanthropist Mark Zuckerberg. You can diss Facebook all you want, but this man has made so much with it that I can't really go, oh, he's just another rich guy. Especially not when you see a glimpse of his private life.

He created the sleep box for his wife, Priscilla. In a live video, Mark explained why he made it. This sleep box is a sleeping tool that will emit light in various degrees to tell a person it is all right to continue sleeping, or when it is time to wake up.

He then challenged inventors to recreate it and one company did. This project is headed by Greg Hovanisyan, and it can be found on Kickstarter. Also, it is available for preorder, if you're interested. Since I'm not selling you a product, you can click the links on my profile.

Not only did they recreate the sleep box, but they also upgraded it to the point where I actually want to buy it—when I have money, because I'm broke right now. Just saying.

In honor of the man who gave them the prototype, Hovanisyan, and his team, named it Zucklight.

Zucklight is available in three aesthetically pleasing styles and in three tiers. The simplest one, Zucklight lite, offers you the service purely on its own. The second tier, Zucklight Plus, has a wireless charger, and the third tier is simply phenomenal for chronically disabled girls just like me. The Zucklight Pro displays temperature, humidity, and CO2 levels.

You'll be able to read more of that since I am starting a series out of this.

The sleep box stemmed from Zuckerberg's love for his wife, and now it will be available for people like us.

No more alarms, or in my case, my mother and Lola's yelling at me to wake up. No more blinding lights both from the sun and my room's bulb. No waking up to an uncharged phone, which is every millennials' headache. As a girl with a chronic disability, I have the chance to adjust things to ensure a good night's sleep.

This taught me just how much we can't judge a book by its cover. Having a small light to gently wake you up, or tell you that you can still continue sleeping is a simple and amazing idea. I am honestly excited to see it in video and live.

I mean, it makes sense to me. Light wakes me more gently than the sound of alarms. Our body clock is easier to deal with when we wake once the sun is up, and having that light take place in a less glare-effect light may work. Just how much it will work, I want to try.

What are your thoughts on this? I find it intriguing and thoughtful. I'm still skeptical, but it makes sense. This may be something that will change us all.

Another revolution, brought by a quiet device, once intended for one mother, now targeting us all. Silently, in dim light, I will wait for it to come.

gadgets
1

About the Creator

Miranieva Buen

Cat Mom, Writer, Disability Advocate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.